客户 / BNIM Architects

客户聚焦:BNIM Architects

Dropbox Business 帮助该屡获殊荣的建筑公司通过任何办公室或设备在大型设计文件中轻松协作,缩短完成客户项目所需的时间。

面临的挑战

在公司扩张时简化工作流

BNIM 设计的建筑物不只是外观漂亮,他们凭借可持续性和能源效率获得国内大奖。获得成功之后,该公司从堪萨斯城的总部向外扩张,在美国各地新设立了 7 个分公司。但是,现有的流程明显无法满足不同地点的员工一起协作的需求,阻碍了他们的发展。每个分公司都有单独的网络硬盘,使得不同城市的同事和顾问难以一起协作,特别是在处理复杂的文件(如 3-D Autodesk Revit 模型)时。通讯总监 Erin Gehle 说提案的实际截止日期总是早于预定日期,因为建筑师需要在截止日期前一个晚上将文件上传到服务器。“我们必须为通讯留足时间。”Gehle 说道。在办公室外,建筑师必须费力地与 VPN 和项目管理软件打交道,而且在每次有人编辑之后都要重复一次。“我们现有的工具无法用于共享大型的 Revit 模型。”IT 总监 Paul Waters 说道,“我们必须采用其他机制。”

为了解决这些问题,员工开始使用以他们的 BNIM 电子邮件地址注册的 Dropbox 个人帐户。在评估了大量的企业云服务提供商后,Dropbox Business 毫无意外地成为了明确的胜出者。“考虑到设备兼容问题,Dropbox Business 是最易于运营的解决方案。”Waters 说。

“之前我们共享文件和在文件中协作的流程涉及非常多的步骤。Dropbox Business 消除了这些步骤,大幅提升我们工作流的效率。”

Paul Waters,BNIM 公司 IT 总监

解决方案

新的协作蓝图

对 BNIM 员工来说,将概念转化为蓝图的流程在部署 Dropbox Business 后流畅了许多。Gehle 指出,员工无需浪费时间来解决服务器的各种限制,而是可以快速发起文件请求,引导接收者向具体的文件夹添加内容。“顾问在审核提案时,如果想要查看备用图片,可以通过极其简单的流程操作。”她说道。

 现在,建筑师团队和工程师团队可以轻松地在共享文件夹中反复修改模型。在准备将设计发送给客户时,他们可以使用共享链接,无需为文件大小或类型而担心。此外,BNIM 员工现在还可以在移动设备上与客户共享许多此类文档,因而能更轻松地在作业现场将早期概念呈现于纸上。“在手机上工作的体验变得更顺畅,无需加载电子邮件或尝试下载文件。”Gehle 说道。

 向 Dropbox Business 迁移后,BNIM 还能确保他们的公司专有文档始终安全有保障,这让他们心安不已。Waters 将管理员控制台称为“上帝的恩典”,认为它能让 BNIM 更有力地控制数据,例如 IT 人员可以在员工离职时通过远程清除功能删除他们设备上的文件。

“我们的快速反应能力获得彻底改造,使我们在客户面前表现出有求必应、洞察秋毫、兴致满满的形象,进而提升了我们的信誉。客户对此表示赞赏。”

Erin Gehle,BNIM 公司通讯总监

成果

响应时间缩短

Dropbox Business 帮助 BNIM 员工节省时间,就如同该公司设计的建筑物帮助客户节省能源那样。“我们无需再熬夜将文件传回公司网络。”Gehle 说道。客户也注意到了他们的周转时间变得更短。“我们的快速反应能力获得彻底改造,使我们在客户面前表现出有求必应、洞察秋毫、兴致满满的形象,进而提升了我们的声誉。客户对此表示赞赏。”BNIM 的 IT 部门还发现了 Dropbox Business 在提升速度和效率上的类似效果。根据 Waters 的估算,该服务为他们节省了 40% 的 IT 管理开销。“例如,我们不需要问丢失了文件的用户‘你希望在哪天之前恢复?’,因为用户可以自行恢复。”他说。作为精通业务的 IT 团队,他们用节省下来的时间帮助 BNIM 走在世界的最前沿。“我们努力使 BNIM 走在技术前沿,查看了所有有助于强化设计流程的新方式。”Waters 说,“因此,能将开销削减这么多真是太棒了。”

Customers / BNIM Architects

BNIM Architects Customer Spotlight

Dropbox Business enables the award-winning architectural firm to easily collaborate on large design files from any office or device, leading to faster turnaround times on client projects.

THE CHALLENGE

Simplifying workflows during expansion

BNIM designs buildings that do more than just look great, winning national awards for sustainability and energy efficiency. This success has led the company to expand beyond its Kansas City headquarters, launching seven new offices across the US. But when it came time for employees in different locations to work together, existing processes clearly were hampering growth. Each office had a separate network drive, making it difficult for colleagues and consultants in different cities to collaborate, especially when handling complex files like 3-D Autodesk Revit models. Proposal deadlines snuck up earlier than expected, as architects needed to upload files onto the server the night before the due date, says Erin Gehle, Director of Communications. “We had to build in large margins just for communication,” Gehle says. When outside the office, architects had to wrestle with VPN and project management software, a struggle that repeated itself every time anyone made an edit. “Our existing tools didn’t perform when we shared large Revit models,” Paul Waters, Director of IT says. “Some other mechanism had to be used.”

To get around all these issues, employees started using Dropbox personal accounts under their BNIM email addresses. After evaluating a number of enterprise cloud providers, there was little surprise that Dropbox Business emerged as the clear winner. “From a device agnostic viewpoint, Dropbox Business was the easiest to operate,” Waters says.

“We used to have so many steps for sharing and collaborating on files. Dropbox Business has eliminated those steps so our workflow is much more efficient.”

Paul Waters, Director of IT, BNIM

THE SOLUTION

A new blueprint for collaboration

For BNIM employees, the process of going from concept to blueprint has become a lot smoother since deploying Dropbox Business. Gehle says that instead of spending hours working around a server’s restrictions, employees quickly initiate a file request, which guides recipients to add content to a specific folder. “When a consultant looks at a proposal and wants to see an alternate image, it’s a very simple process,” she says.

Teams of architects and engineers now easily iterate on models in shared folders. When ready to send designs to customers, they use shared links, which have eliminated concerns over file sizes or types. And BNIM employees can now share many of these documents with clients on mobile devices, making it easier to visualize early concepts when on job sites. “Working on my phone is a much more seamless experience now, versus loading email or trying to download a file,” Gehle says.

Moving to Dropbox Business has also provided BNIM with the necessary peace of mind that its proprietary company documents are always secure. Waters calls the Admin Console a “saving grace,” giving BNIM greater control over data through features like remote wipe, which lets IT delete files from devices when employees leave the company.

“It has just completely transformed our ability to react quickly. It increases our reputation for being responsive, aware, and interested. And clients appreciate that.”

Erin Gehle, Director of Communications, BNIM

THE RESULTS

Quicker response times

Dropbox Business is helping BNIM employees save time — just as the buildings that the firm designs are helping clients save energy. “No more late nights up transferring files back to the network,” says Gehle. The faster turnaround times have also been noticed by customers. “It has just completely transformed our ability to react quickly. It increases our reputation for being responsive, aware, and interested. And clients appreciate that.” BNIM’s IT department has seen a similar effect on speed and efficiency with Dropbox Business. Waters estimates the service has reduced IT management overhead by 40%. “For example, instead of asking a user who lost a file ‘which day do you want it restored?’ users can do it themselves,” he says. As a business-savvy IT team, this time saved helps BNIM remain at the cutting edge. “We’re striving to put BNIM on the edge of technology and look at all emerging ways to enhance the design process,” Waters says. “So having this reduction in overhead is fantastic.”