客戶 / CEL Electric

客戶故事:CEL Electric

機電工程公司利用 Dropbox Business 讓總部能與遠在加拿大最偏遠地區的工地主管保持連結。

面臨挑戰

系統遭雷擊,心血付諸流水

採礦業、製造業、和農業是加拿大薩克其萬省的經濟命脈。而 CEL Electric 這樣的機電工程公司正是為主要生產設施發電的重要來源。1979 年創設以來,CEL 一直保持穩定成長,前後在加拿大各處設了六間辦公室。但隨著公司規模漸大,現有的工具已不足以讓員工與客戶或同事輕鬆分享檔案。用電子郵件將圖檔寄給客戶時,由於附件大小有限,員工都必須先把大型的 PDF 檔拆解成多個檔案才能順利進行。「這些步驟很麻煩,檔案又有遺失風險。」專案經理 Mark Karr 表示。更慘的是,許多員工有時只好用快遞將光碟、隨身碟、整疊圖稿、或合約寄給客戶,花錢又費時。2014 年發生的大事讓一切終於崩盤。公司事務執行副總裁 Shaun Unger 說,一道閃電劈中 CEL 在薩克其萬省的伺服器,公司六個月來的心血付諸一旦。「這道閃電也打醒了我們,不改變不行。」Unger 說。CEL 於是決定將一切遷移至雲端。Dropbox Business 讓員工可以輕易地與外部夥伴分享檔案,公司遂決定採用。尤其是,多數 CEL 員工早已擁有 Dropbox 個人帳戶,公司也採用 Dropbox 無疑是最佳選擇。「大家都已經對 Dropbox 相當熟悉,公司選用新系統這件事就變得無比簡單。」Unger 說。「利用 Dropbox 來開啟新專案最方便不過!」

「如果今天我人得到現場,一整天就耗掉了。我得先搭飛機、開車到偏遠廠址、開會、之後再奔波回來。花錢又花時間。有了 Dropbox Business 後,我再也不必來回奔走,待在總部也能支援工地主管。」

CEL Electric 專案經理 Mark Karr

解決方法

讓輕鬆協作成為可能

Dropbox Business 徹底改變了 CEL 管理工作的方法。從最初的標案、設計,再到最後實際建設發電廠、污水處理廠、和糧倉等步驟皆有了改變。為確保各流程不變得一團亂,CEL 為每個建設項目各別建立子資料夾,妥善管理像是圖稿、訂單變更、報價單、和施工許可等重要資產。「現在大家都知道要去哪裡找資料。」Karr 說。「我再也不必在鑰匙圈上掛一堆隨身碟了。」工程和設計團隊得以合作完成大型 AutoCAD 的設計;員工也能由 Dropbox 存取最新版本的檔案,專案進展速度因而大幅提升。現在工作內容若有變動,工地主管只要用手機開啟他們需要的檔案即可一目了然,與待在 CEL 辦公室裡的同事無縫協作。Dropbox 上的相機上傳功能可以把在工地拍攝的新電纜或電源相片立即回傳總部。「工地主管一拍照,我就馬上能看到現場狀況。」Karr 說。Dropbox Business 在頻寬受限時仍可運作,因此就算在偏遠工地工作,員工還是可以存取檔案。「就算連線品質不穩,我們還是能看到檔案最新的編輯內容。」 Karr 說。CEL 的員工可以透過 Dropbox 協作圖示知道是否有其他同事正在編輯檔案,避免浪費時間編輯舊版文件。IT 部門的人員現在可以睡得安心了,因為所有公司機密資料都會受到 Dropbox 牢牢保護。帳戶移轉功能讓管理員能在員工離職時,將該員工帳戶中的檔案移轉至另一名員工的帳戶。此外,分享連結的到期日也可用來為招標案和設計點子訂下存取時限。

「大家都已經對 Dropbox 相當熟悉,公司選用新系統這件事就變得無比簡單。利用 Dropbox 來開啟新專案最方便不過!」

CEL Electric 公司事務執行副總裁 Shaun Unger

成果

免搭飛機,只需按下連結

Dropbox Business 提供 CEL 可靠的檔案備份機制,正是 CEL 經歷過雷劈事件後迫切需要的保障。但 CEL 表示,Dropbox 帶來的好處遠多於此。像是無限版本紀錄還原功能就相當方便,價值 $5,000 美元的圖稿和試算稿若被員工不小心刪除了,也可以輕易尋回。而最大的助益則是協助公司提升了效率和生產力。「有了 Dropbox Business 後,我再也不必來回奔走,待在總部也能支援工地主管。」Karr 說,「如果要前往工地,我得先搭飛機、開車到偏遠廠址、開會、之後再奔波回來。 花錢又花時間。」在偏遠廠址時,Dropbox Business 也協助大家掌握最新狀況。「不管我們的團隊部署何方,所有檔案都能集中管理。」Unger 說,「Dropbox 無疑地讓我們工作起來更有效率!」

Customers / CEL Electric

CEL Electric Customer Spotlight

The electrical contracting company relies on Dropbox Business to connect headquarters with field supervisors in some of Canada’s most remote locations.


Suffering a shock to the system

With an economy largely driven by mining, manufacturing, and agriculture, the Canadian province of Saskatchewan relies on electrical contracting firms like CEL Electric to power key production facilities. Since its founding in 1979, CEL has steadily grown, opening six offices across Canada. But as the company scaled, existing tools limited employees’ ability to easily share information with each other and with customers. When emailing drawings to building owners, employees were forced to break up large PDF files into smaller pieces to work around attachment limitations. “The steps were cumbersome and data got lost,” says Mark Karr, Project Manager. Worse yet, many employees had to resort to sending CDs, thumb drives, or stacks of paper drawings and contracts by courier — a slow and costly process. The final straw came in 2014, when lightning struck a CEL server in Saskatoon, erasing six month’s worth of work, says Shaun Unger, VP of Corporate Affairs. “It was our wake-up call to make a change,” Unger says. CEL decided to move to the cloud, choosing Dropbox Business because it made it easy to share files with external partners. The fact that many CEL employees already had personal Dropbox accounts made the decision a no-brainer. “Adoption becomes so much easier since people were already comfortable with the system,” Unger says. “Dropbox was by far the most efficient way to launch projects.”

“If I go on site, my day is gone. I have to fly out, drive to a remote location, have meetings, and come back. It costs us quite a bit. With Dropbox Business, I can support field supervisors from headquarters instead of making the trip.”

Mark Karr, Project Manager, CEL Electric


Powering a better way to work together

Dropbox Business has transformed the entire way CEL manages jobs, from initial bid to the design phase to the ultimate construction of power generators, water treatment plants, and grain bins, to name a few projects. To keep this complex process as tidy as possible, CEL sets up subfolders for each project to organize key assets like drawings, change orders, pricing quotes, and permits. “Now everyone always knows where everything is,” Karr says. “I don’t carry around thumb drives on my keychain anymore.” Engineering and design teams can collaborate on massive AutoCAD designs, as employees can access the latest files on Dropbox, leading to quicker turnaround times on projects. If job scopes change, supervisors in the field can now pull up the files they need on their phones, making it easy to collaborate with CEL offices in real time. The camera upload feature on Dropbox means photographs of new wirings or power sources at jobsites are shared nearly instantly with HQ. “As soon as a supervisor takes a picture, I can see what we’re talking about,” says Karr. When working from remote locations, employees can still access the files they need as Dropbox Business works in low-bandwidth situations. “We could see changes coming in even with an unstable connection out by Hudson Bay,” Karr says. CEL employees no longer waste time working on outdated documents, as the Dropbox badge lets users know who else is in a file. The IT department sleeps easier now, too, knowing sensitive company information is truly safe. The account transfer feature lets admins move files to another employee’s account if someone leaves the company. And link expirations restrict access to bids or design concepts after a certain date.

“Adoption becomes so much easier since people were already comfortable with the system. Dropbox was by far the most efficient way to launch projects.”

Shaun Unger, VP of Corporate Affairs, CEL Electric


Clicking links instead of boarding flights

Dropbox Business has brought CEL reliable data backup — the company’s most pressing need following the lightning strike. But CEL says the service has been a boon in other areas, too. Unlimited version recovery has come in handy, enabling one employee to retrieve $5,000 worth of drawings and spreadsheets that had been accidentally deleted. But the biggest impact has come from increased efficiency and productivity. “With Dropbox Business, I can support our field supervisors from headquarters instead of making the trip,” says Karr. “If I go on site, I have to fly out, drive to a remote location, have meetings, and come back. It costs us quite a bit.” In the field, Dropbox Business helps ensure everyone stays up to date. “Everything is centralized, no matter where our team is based,” Unger says. “There’s no doubt it makes us all more productive.”