客户 / Chapman University

客户聚焦:Chapman University

大学的 IT 部门推出 Dropbox Education 帮助教师更好地安全协作,提高工作效率并节约成本。

面临的挑战

进步始终如一

Chapman University 于 1861 年 3 月 4 日建校,当天亚布拉罕·林肯首次就任总统。这并不是巧合:就在林肯总统发表就职演说几小时后,这间地处洛杉矶的学校就向任何种族和性别的学生敞开了大门 — 这在当时看来是一项前卫大胆的举措。150 多年过去了,Chapman 在各个方面都保留其不断进取的传统。“挑战创新已经融入我们的骨子里,在科技领域我们也是如此,” 科技服务工程师 Armando Diaz 如是说。所以教员们早已了解在研究和课堂作业方面,有比交换 CD 和 U 盘更好的协作方式。“你得发送校际邮件或亲自送去某人的办公室,” Diaz 说。“这有些浪费时间。”很多人转而使用 Dropbox 个人帐户以便更快地共享文档,这很快就引起 IT 部门的注意。 “因为很多教员已经在使用 Dropbox,我们确信可以通过 Dropbox Education 推广这一方式,”首席信息官 Helen Norris 说。“在我们审核的所有选择当中,它最灵活且易于使用。”

“因为很多教员已经在使用 Dropbox,我们确信可以通过 Dropbox Education 推广这一方式。在我们审核的所有选择当中,它最灵活且非常易于使用。”

Helen Norris,Chapman University 首席信息官

解决方案

启用更多安全协作

通过设置了一个用户可以自行注册的网页门户,Chapman 推出了 Dropbox Education。“我们想测试产品的真正使用率,而不是强迫人们加入,”基础设施副主任 Paul Kang 说。门户上线仅一周后,就超过了 300 个用户,表示 Chapman 接近三分之一的兼职工已经加入进来。Kang 说学校上一个解决方案的使用率在推出四年后仅为 20%。“使用 Dropbox Education 后,才 7 天我们就获得了更高的使用率,”他说。“并且大家并不只是注册而已 — 他们都已经成为活跃的用户。这是一个很大的成功。”

为了鼓励研究协作,现在教授们把他们的课程录下来并放到 Dropbox 共享文件夹里。不论是在校园内还是在世界各地,教员们都可以在任何地方进行访问。每天,仅药学系就从五个班级向 Dropbox 上传八个小时的课程。系里的一位教授把共享文件夹作为与巴西、埃及和南非研究合作伙伴的集体工作区。“我可以查看实验室报告、出版物、项目经费申请,”药学院教授、学术事务副院长 Ayman Noreddin 博士说。“所有跟我研究有关的资料都在 Dropbox 里,因为查找和共享文件都非常轻松。”

Dropbox 允许教员在 Chapman 混合的平台环境下,在任何设备上都可以安全工作 - 这深受教员们的喜爱。“无论使用的是 PC、Mac、iOS 还是 Android,在任何地点都可以访问数据,”Kang 说。“这是 Dropbox 的优势之一。”解决方案在 Chapman 广泛应用的同时,管理员控制台让 IT 部门能够跟踪所有新用户帐户和关联的设备。“工作面板太棒了 — 我们可以查看任何异常的使用情况,”Kang 说。“而且有了 Dropbox 的加密与合规标准,我们觉得把重要文件放到平台上很安全。”

“我们上一个解决方案的使用率在推出四年后仅为 20%。使用 Dropbox Education 后,才 7 天我们就获得了更高的使用率。”

Paul Kang,Chapman University 基础设施副主任

成果

节约成本,提高效率

Dropbox Education 让 Chapman 的 IT 团队和学校的教职与研究人员在校园里可以更轻松地工作。“我曾经管理电子邮件服务器,需要花费大量的时间和费用,” Kang 说。“因为有了 Dropbox Education,人们使用的电子邮件少了许多。对我们来说这节约了很多成本,减少了很多让人头痛的问题。”学校领导说解决方案易于使用就意味着用户的支持需求变少了。“使用 Dropbox 不需要特定培训,”网页管理员 Ramiro Landeros 说。“人们自己摸索就可以使用,这节约了很多时间和资源。”对于 Chapman 的研究人员来说,Dropbox Education 还有一个优点:扩大他们同事之间的关系网。“它让我的工作更井井有条,”Noreddin 说。“我工作起来更加专注和高效,我的同事们也是如此。我们可以更轻松地共享想法,这也大大促进了我们的研究。”

Customers / Chapman University

Chapman University Customer Spotlight

The university’s IT department rolls out Dropbox Education to help faculty better collaborate in a more secure way, leading to increases in productivity and cost savings.

THE CHALLENGE

Staying true to progressive roots

Chapman University was founded on March 4, 1861 — the same day President Abraham Lincoln was sworn in to his first term. This was no coincidence: hours after Lincoln’s address, the Los Angeles area school opened its doors to students of any race or gender — a radical act at the time. Over 150 years later, Chapman has retained its progressive approach to many areas. “It’s in our genes to push the envelope, and we apply that to the way we think about technology,” says Armando Diaz, Technical Services Engineer. That’s why faculty members knew there was a better way to collaborate on research and coursework than exchanging CDs and USB drives. “You’d send it through intercampus mail or walk it over to somebody’s office,” says Diaz. “It wasn’t a great use of time.” Many turned to Dropbox personal accounts to quickly share documents, and IT soon took notice. “Because so many faculty were already using Dropbox, we knew we could then secure that environment with Dropbox Education,” says Helen Norris, Chief Information Officer. “Of all the options we reviewed, it was the most flexible and easy to use.”

“Because so many faculty were already using Dropbox, we knew we could then secure that environment with Dropbox Education. Of all the options we reviewed, it was the most flexible and easy to use.”

Helen Norris, Chief Information Officer, Chapman University

THE SOLUTION

Enabling more secure collaboration

Chapman rolled out Dropbox Education by setting up a web portal where users could sign up on their own. “We wanted to measure the product’s true adoption rate, instead of forcing people to join,” says Paul Kang, Assistant Director, Infrastructure. Just a week after the portal went live, the team grew to over 300 users, representing nearly a third of Chapman’s entire faculty and staff. Kang says the university’s adoption rate of a previous solution was only 20% after four years. “We achieved a higher mark with Dropbox Education in seven days,” he says. “And people didn’t just sign up — they became active users. It was a great success.”

To encourage collaboration on research, professors now record their lectures and place them in Dropbox shared folders. Faculty can access them whether they’re across campus or across the globe. Every day, the pharmacy department alone uploads eight hours of lectures from five classes to Dropbox. One professor in the department uses a shared folder as a collective workspace for research partners in Brazil, Egypt, and South Africa. “I can review lab reports, publications, grant applications,” says Dr. Ayman Noreddin, Professor of Pharmacy andAssociate Dean of Academic Affairs. “Anything related to my research lives in Dropbox because files are so easy to find and share.”

Faculty members appreciate that Dropbox also allows them to work securely on any device in Chapman’s mixed platform environment. “Whether it’s PC, Mac, iOS, or Android, data is available anywhere,” says Kang. “That’s one of Dropbox’s strengths.” As the solution’s adoption has spread further across Chapman, the Admin Console allows the IT department to track all the new user accounts and connected devices. “The dashboard is fantastic — we can see any usage that may be out of the norm,” says Kang. “And with Dropbox’s encryption and compliance standards, we feel very safe putting our important files on the platform.”

“Our adoption rate on our prior solution was 20% after four years. We achieved a higher mark with Dropbox Education in seven days.”

Paul Kang, Assistant Director, Infrastructure, Chapman University

THE RESULTS

Increasing savings and productivity

Dropbox Education has made work on campus easier for Chapman’s IT team as well as the university’s faculty and researchers. “I used to manage email servers, and the time and costs were significant,” Kang says. “Because of Dropbox Education, people are using email far less. It’s a huge cost savings for us, with less headache.” University officials say the solution’s ease of use means they’re getting less support requests from users. “There’s no real training necessary with Dropbox,” says Ramiro Landeros, Web Manager. “People figure it out on their own, which saves a lot of time and resources.”For Chapman researchers, Dropbox Education has had another positive effect: it’s growing their network of colleagues. “It makes my work so much more organized,” Noreddin says. “I’m more focused and productive, and I’ve seen the difference from my colleagues too. We share ideas much more easily, and that makes our research that much better.”