客戶 / 克利夫蘭州立社區學院

客戶故事:克利夫蘭州立社區學院

位於北卡的學院藉由 Dropbox Education 讓教職員可以使用不同裝置工作,簡化 IT 和管理流程,好將重心放在教學上。

面臨挑戰

尋找更好的檔案分享和存取途徑

為了讓全校一萬三千多名學位生和進修部學生與未來接軌,克利夫蘭州立社區學院一直以來都採用時下最新科技。克利夫蘭州立社區學院位於北卡羅來納州謝爾比市,最近剛獲得全美社區大學有史以來最大一筆聯邦補助金,協助他們採購科技項目。學院中的教職人員都使用 iPad 和 Windows Surface 等多種裝置,在各校區教學。

由於使用不同裝置和平台,教職人員難以存取或分享檔案。更麻煩的是,學校過時的伺服器系統很難用,員工必須手動備份檔案。而這樣的人工備份又經常出錯,導致 IT 人員一天到晚都在幫忙還原誤刪的檔案。許多員工已自行使用 Dropbox 個人帳戶來克服這些不便,因此學院也開始考慮訂購企業級的檔案同步和分享方案。

評估多家廠商後,克利夫蘭州立社區學院決定採用 Dropbox Education。「Dropbox Education 的一切功能都相當完美。您可以在多個位置彼此協作、分享、和存取檔案,」學院的教育發展專員 Athena Smith 表示。「相較之下,其他選項根本比不上。」

「對我們 IT 人員來說,每當有使用者遺失檔案,我們便得接手,試著將檔案還原為原本的狀況。此外,我們還必須維護備份用的伺服器。將所有檔案移至 Dropbox 後,我們再也不必為這些麻煩事疲於奔命。省下了好多寶貴時間!」

克利夫蘭州立社區學院資訊長 Howard Roberts

解決方法

校內外教學變得更容易

採用 Dropbox Education 後,學院得以提供學生更好的教學品質。老師們前往高中或其他校外地點授課時,只要帶上慣用的裝置,即可在課堂上即時存取需要的教材。「老師再也不必惦記檔案儲存在哪個裝置,因為檔案就存在他們的每一台裝置裡。無論身在校園內外,甚至在沙灘度假,任何地方皆能存取檔案。」Smith 說。

老師可以利用共享資料夾傳送資料給學生,也讓指定和蒐集作業變得相當容易,教學逐漸走向無紙化。Dropbox 協作圖示也讓職員能更順暢地協作專案和其他校園規劃案。藉由協作圖示,瀏覽檔案的人可以直接在 Microsoft Office 程式中分享;要是他人對檔案作出變更,也可以直接將檔案更新為最新版本。「高等教育體系中總是有各種團隊在籌辦事情。」教學與學生發展組執行副總裁 Shannon Kennedy 博士說。「多人同時編輯同一個檔案時,協作圖示幫助可大了!」

學院的資訊長 Howard Roberts 說,Dropbox Education 還提供了學院需要的安全防護機制。Dropbox 整合了學院的單一登入機制 SecureAuth,讓教職員工可以直接以學院分派的帳號登入 Dropbox。 「除了本人以外,沒有其他人可以存取私人文件。」他說。

「老師們再也不必惦記檔案儲存在哪個裝置,因為檔案就存在他們的每一台裝置裡。無論身在校園內外,甚至在沙灘度假,任何地方皆能存取檔案。」

克利夫蘭州立社區學院教育發展專員 Athena Smith

成果

節省 IT 人員和老師們的寶貴時間

學院表示,有了 Dropbox Education,IT 人員不必再花大把時間處理員工分享和備份檔案時的狀況。教職員工很快便會將檔案備份至 Dropbox Education,而不是學院老舊的伺服器。這麼一來,若有人不小心誤刪檔案,或是有人員離職,學院也可以輕鬆將檔案還原。「省下了好多寶貴時間!」Roberts 說。

最關鍵的是,老師現在可以將時間專注在教學,不必費心處理雜務。「一名老師請學生建立資料夾並與他共享。」Smith 說,「在課堂上到處關心學生學習狀況時,還能邊查看學生的資料夾,檢查學生的作業。」

Customers / Cleveland Community College

Cleveland Community College Customer Spotlight

Dropbox Education helps the North Carolina college sharpen its focus on teaching by enabling staff to work across devices, saving time on IT and administrative tasks.


Seeking a better way to share and access files

To prepare its 13,000-plus degree and continuing-ed students for the future, Cleveland Community College has always embraced the latest technology. The Shelby, North Carolina school recently received the largest federal grant for tech ever awarded to a community college in the state. Most of the tech-friendly school’s faculty and staff use multiple devices, including iPads and Surface tablets, to teach at all the locations where the college offers courses.

But working across devices and platforms often made it tricky for faculty and staff to access and share files. What’s more, the school’s legacy server system required employees to manually back up files, a process that frequently led to accidentally deleted files — and headaches for IT. Many employees were already using personal Dropbox accounts to get around these challenges, prompting the school to consider an enterprise file sync and share solution that the entire campus could adopt.

After looking at several different vendors, the college decided to go with Dropbox Education. “The bar had been set pretty high in terms of features, like being able to collaborate, share, access from multiple locations, those types of things,” says Athena Smith, the college’s Instructional Development Coordinator. “It was difficult to find something that could even come close to that.”

“From an IT standpoint, if a person loses their files, we have to get involved to restore that file back to its original state. We also have to support a server that’s totally dedicated to backup. Once we move everything to Dropbox, we won’t have to do that. I see that as a tremendous time savings for us.”

Howard Roberts, Chief Information Officer, Cleveland Community College


Making it easier to teach on campus and off

With Dropbox Education, the school is able to better serve its student community. Faculty members can now show up with their preferred devices at high schools and other off-campus class locations, and instantly access the materials they need. “The faculty member won’t have to worry about what device that file is on any longer,” says Smith, “Because it’ll be on all their devices. They can access it from anywhere — on campus, off campus, at the beach, wherever they happen to be.”

Faculty members are going paperless by sharing folders with students, which in turn is making coursework much easier to assign and collect. And the Dropbox badge is smoothing collaboration for staff working on task forces and other school planning initiatives. The feature lets viewers share files and update to the latest version when someone else makes changes, all within Microsoft Office. “In higher education, there’s always a team of folks working on something,” says Dr. Shannon Kennedy, Executive Vice President of Instruction and Student Development. “So this is a great benefit when you have multiple people working on the same document.”

Howard Roberts, the college’s Chief Information Officer, says that Dropbox Education also provides the security features the college requires. The service integrates with the college’s single sign-on provider SecureAuth, which means faculty and staff can sign into Dropbox with their school-provisioned credentials. “No one else other than the intended person is able to get access to a document from a security standpoint,” he says.

“The faculty member won’t have to worry about what device that file is on any longer, because it’ll be on all their devices. They can access it from anywhere — on campus, off campus, at the beach, wherever they happen to be.”

Athena Smith Instructional Development Coordinator Cleveland Community College


Saving time for IT and teachers

Dropbox Education will reduce the hours that IT personnel spend dealing with issues related to the sharing and backup of files, the school says. Faculty and staff will soon be backing up all files on Dropbox Education rather than the school’s legacy server, a move that will make it easier to recover files when someone accidentally deletes them — or leaves the school. “I see that as a tremendous time savings for us,” says Roberts.

Bottom line? Educators are able to spend more time teaching and less time dealing with administrative tasks. “I know one faculty member that had the students create a folder and share it with them,” Smith says. “They could actually walk around the classroom and look in that student’s folder and say, ‘Oh, yes, I got your homework,’ and check that off as they walked around the classroom.”