客户 / GIW Minerals
Play video

客户聚焦:GIW Minerals

该渣浆泵制造商依赖 Dropbox Business 提升移动性和协作效率,使员工获享更快速的工作流,并为全球客户提供更优质的服务。

面临的挑战

寻求更流畅的信息流

KSB 公司旗下的 GIW Industries 成立于 1891 年,前身是一家小型机械修理店。他们设计和制造的渣浆泵以 GIW Minerals 品牌销售给全球各地的客户。位于佐治亚州 Grovetown 市的这家公司已经有了长足的发展,管理层意识到他们需要找到一种方法来使公司的工作流顺畅起来,就像渣浆从他们生产的 20 吨重的泵中流过一样。

员工依赖于电子邮件和 FTP 站点,经常在进行内部协作以及向客户发送包含产品规格的大文件时遇到麻烦。在偏远的采矿区,驻守在那里的员工有时无法访问服务器,因而不能备份笔记本电脑上的资料,也不能下载最新的销售材料。“他们在世界各地奔波,我们很难高效地为他们提供支援。”服务器运营主管 Lucas McCuistian 说道。来自 GIW 硬件供应商 Dell(Dropbox Business 的战略合作伙伴)的一名销售代表向他们推荐了 Dropbox,认为该服务可以满足他们对存储和集中进行文件共享的需求。在此建议下,该公司决定试用一下。

“员工要求我们处理电子邮件配额大小或协助他们共享文件的状况显著减少,减少幅度高达 80-90%。”

Lucas McCuistian,服务器运营主管

解决方案

提升协作效率

McCuistian 表示,在迁移到 Dropbox Business 后,公司的销售代表可以将更多时间用于向潜在客户提供服务上,减少了翻找所需信息的时间。“参加会议时,我们的销售人员可以在手机或平板电脑上打开数据,而无需携带装满纸张材料的大文件夹或笔记本电脑。”他说。产品和设计团队通过共享文件夹协作处理 AutoCAD 及其他大文件,再也不会像过去那样“堵塞”电子邮件服务器。团队在一个地方集中存储文件,因而不会再同一文档出现四五个版本的情况。

使用 Dropbox Business 的另一个好处是:现场的员工可以将场地图片和视频同步给总部(即使是使用低带宽连接也没问题)。“我们能更迅速地排查问题。”产品经理 Scott Gillum 说,“有个员工在印度尼西亚一个非常偏僻的地方,那里的时间比我们早 16 小时。他可以轻而易举地上传获得的所有数据并提交给我们,就像他人在办公室里一样。”管理员控制台让 IT 部门能轻松移除离职的员工和合同工,并利用远程清除功能抹除他们设备上的任何公司数据,从而保证将敏感信息留在公司内部。“只要观察员工是以怎样的开放态度迎接技术(包括 Dropbox),我们就能知道这个技术的有效性和易用性如何。”Gillum 说道。

“这让我们能更迅速地排查问题。有个员工在印度尼西亚一个非常偏僻的地方,那里的时间比我们早 16 小时。他可以轻而易举地上传获得的所有数据并提交给我们,就像他人在办公室里一样。”

Scott Gillum,项目经理

成果

给 IT 部门和员工减负

McCuistian 表示,Dropbox Business 让员工能更轻松地开展工作。该公司外发电子邮件的最大文件从 50MB 减少到了 10MB,因为现在他们的员工可以使用 Dropbox 服务与内外部人员共享大文件。这种变化使 IT 人员能将更多时间专注在战略性项目上,他补充道。“员工要求我们处理电子邮件配额大小或协助他们共享文件的状况显著减少。”McCuistian 表示,“减少幅度高达 80-90%。”销售与营销副总裁 Charlie Stone 说 Dropbox 帮助他们紧跟全球采矿业的脚步。“我们不需要每周 7 天,每天 24 小时都安排人员在办公室值班。”他说,“我们通过 Dropbox 让地球另一端的人获得他们所需的信息。”

Customers / GIW Minerals
Play video

GIW Minerals Customer Spotlight

The slurry pump manufacturer relies on Dropbox Business to facilitate mobility and collaboration, leading to faster workflows for employees and better service for global customers.

THE CHALLENGE

Seeking a better flow of information

Founded in 1891 as a small machine shop, KSB’s GIW Industries designs and manufactures slurry pumps that are sold to customers around the globe under the GIW Minerals brand. As the Grovetown, Georgia company has grown, management realized it needed a way to keep the work process flowing as fluidly as the material that moves through its 20-ton pumps.

Dependent on email and FTP sites, employees often struggled with collaborating internally and sending large files containing product specs to customers. Staff members stationed in remote areas where mining occurs sometimes had trouble accessing servers to back up their laptops and download the latest sales materials. “They are anywhere on the planet at any given time, and it makes it hard to back them up efficiently,” says Lucas McCuistian, Supervisor of Server Operations. After a rep from GIW’s hardware supplier Dell — a Dropbox Business strategic partner — suggested the service would meet its needs for storage and centralized file sharing, the company decided to give it a try.

“We’ve seen a massive decrease in requests dealing with email quota sizes or files that need to be shared. They’ve dropped 80 to 90%.”

Lucas McCuistian, Supervisor of Server Operations

THE SOLUTION

Pumping up collaboration

Now that the KSB company has moved to Dropbox Business, sales reps can spend more time providing service to prospects and less time trying to dig up the information they need, McCuistian says. “Instead of carrying a big folder full of paper or a laptop to a meeting, it allows our sales folks to bring up their data on their phones or tablets,” he says. Product and design teams are using shared folders to collaborate on the AutoCAD and other colossal files that used to choke the email server. Having one centralized location for files means teams no longer end up with four or five versions of the same document.

Using Dropbox Business has another benefit: employees in the field can sync — even with lowbandwidth connections — site images and videos back with headquarters. “It allows us to troubleshoot problems more quickly,” says Scott Gillum, Product Manager. “I’ve got a guy that is 16 hours ahead of me in Indonesia in a very, very remote location. He can very easily upload all the data that he’s getting and get it back to us just as if he were here.” The Admin Console helps the company keep sensitive information inside the company by making it easy for IT to offboard departing employees and contractors, and remotely wipe any company data off their devices. “To look around at employees and see how they have openly embraced a technology like Dropbox is a testament to how effective and easy to use it is,” Gillum says.

“It allows us to troubleshoot problems more quickly. I’ve got a guy that is 16 hours ahead of me in Indonesia in a very, very remote location. He can very easily upload all the data that he’s getting and get it back to us just as if he were here.”

Scott Gillum, Product Manager

THE RESULTS

Freeing up IT and employees

Dropbox Business is making work much easier for employees, says McCuistian. The company was able to reduce the maximum file sizes for external emails from 50 MB to 10 MB, as employees now use the service to share large files both internally and externally. The change has given IT more time to focus on strategic projects, he adds. “We’ve seen a massive decrease in requests dealing with email quota sizes or files that need to be shared,” McCuistian says. “They’ve dropped 80 to 90%.” Charlie Stone, VP of Sales and Marketing, says Dropbox is helping us keep pace with the speed of the global mining business. “We don’t have to man this office 24/7,” he says. “We use Dropbox to enable people on the other side of the world to get the information they need.”