客户 / HappyFunCorp

客户聚焦:HappyFunCorp

Dropbox Business 简化了该工程公司为一些全球最大的公司开发和打造新产品的方式。

面临的挑战

管理复杂的项目

HappyFunCorp 位于纽约布鲁克林,致力于帮助纽约地区的创业公司构思、设计和打造成功项目。但是该团队很快就意识到他们的服务对大公司也颇具吸引力,于是开始为大企业客户(如 American Express、Con Edison 和 Estee Lauder)开发新应用。不过,与这些客户合作的流程毫无乐趣可言:产品反馈机制太过复杂,无法通过电子邮件、聊天和交换 zip 文件的形式进行。这经常导致设计文件和线框模型等重要资料出现版本混淆的情况。在与具有许多利益相关方和尽职调查流程较长的大客户合作时,此问题更加明显。“流程日渐臃肿,因为我们生成的内容非常多 — 特别是在定义产品的时候。”联合创始人 Ben Schippers 说道。HappyFunCorp 决定改用云产品并选择了 Dropbox Business,因为他们认为ta是适应性最强的跨设备、跨平台协作解决方案。“在数字世界里,我们需要达成一致意见,让大家都把文件存到一个地方。”Schippers 说。

“开发新产品时,我们非常容易在生成的海量内容中迷失。但 Dropbox Business 可井然有序地存储所有内容,让客户随时都可以参与进来。”

Ben Schippers,HappyFunCorp 联合创始人

解决方案

简化产品开发

现在,该公司完全依赖 Dropbox 文件夹管理产品设计流程。签约新客户后,HappyFunCorp 团队会设置三个共享文件夹来开始与客户合作。一个文件夹作为工作区,供销售人员和产品经理确定市场定位,预先评估概念以及收集版权文档。第二个文件夹供设计师和开发者进行协作,方便他们在制作原型时维持对 Sketch 和 Photoshop 文件的版本控制。而工程团队和架构团队则在第三个文件夹中共享大型编程文件。多亏 Dropbox 的同步引擎,修改内容能实时地跨设备更新 - 这着实让速度提升了不少。HappyFunCorp 可通过简洁、可控的步骤让客户参与新产品发布,联合创始人 Will Schenk 表示。“我们可以直接访问相应的文件夹,而无需来回发送资料。”Schenk 说,“每个人都一直保持清晰的条理,他们知道所需的资料在哪里。”HappyFunCorp 表示现在预算也轻松了不少,因为在使用 Excel 电子表格时,共享文件夹和 Dropbox 标记为他们消除了版本控制问题。“我们知道还有谁在文档中,并能更新到最新的版本,这对我们非常有帮助。”Schenk 说。通过 Dropbox Business,员工还可以在路上通过任何设备工作。“参加客户会议时我经常不带笔记本电脑,因为我可以在手机上从 Dropbox 打开设计或发票,这能减少注意力分散,”Schippers 说。通过在文件夹上自定义权限级别,他们可以确保只有相关的人员才能查看客户专有资源和内部业务文件。“我们能够确保只有一部分人能访问内容,这太不可思议了。”Schippers 说道。

“在我们协作时,Dropbox Business 提供的同步和版本控制功能让我们不会有任何困惑,这成为了一种巨大的竞争优势。”

Will Schenk,HappyFunCorp 联合创始人

成果

专心做他们最擅长的事情

随着大客户越来越多,公司规模越来越大,HappyFunCorp 表示项目却越来越简单,因为他们使用了 Dropbox Business。“我们让多个作者合作编辑单个文件,由此节省大量的时间。”Schenk 说道,“我们可以将重心放在为客户解决问题上,而不必努力同步信息以开始对话。”Dropbox Business 还让 HappyFunCorp 能够保持精简的 IT 团队,以便将关注点放在核心的工程设计业务上。“Dropbox Business 极大简化了我们思考基础设施的方式,我们的成本已大幅减少。”Schippers 说。身为联合创始人的 Schippers 肩负多职,他非常欣赏 Dropbox Business 能够与 HappyFunCorp 现有工作流和工具无缝集成。“无论我要扮演哪个角色,Dropbox 都不会要求我改变工作方式。”他说,“这给了我巨大的优势。”

Customers / HappyFunCorp

HappyFunCorp Customer Spotlight

Dropbox Business simplifies the way the engineering firm develops and builds new products for some of the world’s largest corporations.

THE CHALLENGE

Managing complex projects

Brooklyn-based HappyFunCorp was founded to help New York-area startups conceptualize, design, and engineer successful products. But the team soon realized that its services would appeal to bigger companies too, leading to jobs building new apps for enterprise clients like American Express, Con Edison, and Estee Lauder. Collaborating with those customers, however, required steps that were anything but fun: product feedback loops were often too complex to conduct over email, chats, and exchanges of zip files. This often led to version confusion over important assets like design files and wire-frame models. The problem snowballed when working with larger clients facing many stakeholders and long due-diligence processes. “It became unwieldy because we generate so much content, especially when defining a product,” says Co-founder Ben Schippers. HappyFunCorp decided to turn to the cloud, choosing Dropbox Business after the company concluded it was the most adaptable solution for collaboration across devices and platforms. “We needed a meeting of the minds in the digital world, so we could say ‘this is where everything lives,’” Schippers says.

“When building a new product, it’s easy to get lost in the amount of content being generated. But clients can come on that journey with us because Dropbox Business keeps everything organized.”

Ben Schippers, Co-Founder, HappyFunCorp

THE SOLUTION

Simplifying product development

Today, the company manages its product design process entirely using Dropbox folders. When HappyFunCorp lands a new client, the team sets up three shared folders to kick off work with the customer. One is a workspace for sales execs and product managers to determine market fit, scope out concepts, and gather copyright documents. Designers and developers collaborate through a second folder that allows them to maintain version control of Sketch and Photoshop files as they finesse mock-ups. And engineering and architecture teams share large programming files in the third folder. Quality assurance happens much faster now as changes are updated across devices in real time thanks to Dropbox’s sync engine. HappyFunCorp can share the journey of launching a new product with the client in clear, manageable steps, says Co-founder Will Schenk. “Instead of sending assets back and forth, we simply refer to the right folder,” says Schenk. “Everyone is organized in a consistent way — they know exactly where to go.” HappyFunCorp says budgeting is easier now, too, as shared folders and the Dropbox badge have eliminated version control issues when working in Excel spreadsheets. “Knowing who else is in a document and being able to update to the latest version becomes unbelievably helpful,” says Schenk. With Dropbox Business, employees can also work on the go from any device. “I often don’t bring a laptop to client meetings, because I can pull up a design or invoice from Dropbox on my phone, and it’s less distracting,” Schippers says. And customized permission levels on folders ensure that only the right people are viewing proprietary customer assets and internal business files. “The ability to make sure only a subset of people have access content is amazing,” says Schippers.

“The sync capabilities and version control of Dropbox Business remove confusion when we collaborate, and that becomes a huge competitive advantage.”

Will Schenk, Co-Founder, HappyFunCorp

THE RESULTS

Focusing on what they do best

While HappyFunCorp is scaling quickly as it takes on larger clients, the company says projects have actually become simpler using Dropbox Business. “We’ve saved an incredible amount of time having multiple authors edit a single document,” Schenk says. “We can focus on solving problems for customers, instead of just trying to get on the same page to start the conversation.” Dropbox Business has also allowed HappyFunCorp to keep IT lean so that the company can stay focused on its core engineering design business. “Dropbox Business vastly simplifies the way we think about our infrastructure, and our costs have been dramatically reduced,” Schippers says. As a co-founder with many responsibilities, Schippers says Dropbox Business scores big points for integrating seamlessly with HappyFunCorp’s existing workflow and tools. “Whatever hat I’m wearing, Dropbox doesn’t require me to change how I work,” he says. “That’s a huge advantage.”