客户 / Plex

客户聚焦:Plex Systems

该云端制造业 ERP 公司的员工数量在过去两年里增加了一倍,他们利用 Dropbox Business 更轻松地跨地区、跨设备进行协作。

面临的挑战

移除桎梏,快速成长

Plex Systems 的创始人都有在制造公司任职的经历。在他们的领导下,该公司帮助超过 400 家制造公司将产品库存管理和产品运输管理之类的关键流程迁移到云端,从而对管理进行了优化。在过去两年里,这家位于密歇根的公司在规模上扩大了一倍,他们认识到必须升级内部工具以跟上公司成长的脚步。IT 总监 Chris Pesola 表示,不同地区的员工依赖电子邮件进行协作,经常导致同个文档出现多个版本的“文件管理噩梦”。“我们需要找到更好的方式,让员工从多个地点和多台设备进行协作。”他说。作为云解决方案提供商,Plex 评估了大量的协作解决方案。Dropbox Business 主要凭借其易用性受到他们的青睐。在从一个只有 PC 的环境迁移到一个对所有平台都开放的环境后,该公司急需能跨设备无缝运作的服务。 “我们希望选择的解决方案简单易用,不会遭到抵制。”Pesola 说,“在部署任何技术时都很难避免这种情况。”

“我们希望获得无论是从用户界面、安全性还是部署角度看都能让员工最满意的解决方案。它必须能良好地兼容 Mac、PC 和智能手机,一个都不能落下。我们发现答案只有一个,就是 Dropbox。”

Chris Pesola,Plex Systems 公司 IT 总监

解决方案

让用户使用最爱的工具

Dropbox Business 让员工在任何地方都能使用自己最爱的应用,保持高效工作。“我们的用户喜欢通过网络打开原生 Microsoft Office 文档的功能。”Pesola 说。市场营销部门现在可以利用 Dropbox 标记协作处理 PowerPoint 演示文稿,因为员工可以看到还有谁在文件中,并在有人修改文件时更新到最新版本。财务团队现在通过共享链接或共享文件夹将合同发给销售代表。这让销售代表能经常通过移动设备轻松访问及与客户共享这些达成交易所需的文档。

“如果潜在客户联系我们的销售代表说‘我准备好签约了’,销售代表马上就能拿出合同。”Pesola 说道。管理员控制台可以帮助 Plex 监控可疑使用或登录,以保持其 BYOD 环境的安全性。如果员工丢失设备或离职,IT 部门可以转移文件或远程清除设备上的文件。

“随着公司不断发展,工作环境越来越分散,越来越受需求的摆布,我们需要寻找能符合这些需求的技术。Dropbox 正是这样的技术。”

Katy Teer,Plex Systems 高级企业通讯经理

成果

降低成本,提升效率

在 Dropbox Business 的助力下,Plex 表示他们为迎接未来的成长所做的准备更充分了。本地硬盘和设备的存储容量上限下降,使公司的长期硬件投资跟着下降。“由于不必升级后端架构,我们轻松省下了六位数的资金,这是立竿见影的效果。”Pesola 说道。对于销售和市场营销部门,共享文件夹的使用减少了电子邮件流量。员工可以更专注于处理工作和客户需求,而无需浪费时间判断哪个文件才是最新版本。此外,销售代表可以在移动设备上通过 Dropbox 获取关键的营销资料和合同,更快对客户做出响应。有什么好处?销售代表可以达成更多交易,提高公司的收入。

Customers / Plex

Plex Systems Customer Spotlight

The cloud manufacturing ERP company has doubled in employees in the last two years, using Dropbox Business to more easily collaborate across locations and devices.


Removing barriers to rapid growth

Led by founders who once worked in a manufacturing facility, Plex Systems helps over 400 manufacturers better manage inventory and shipping by bringing these key processes to the cloud. The Michigan-based company has doubled in size in the last two years, leading to a realization that it needed to upgrade its internal tools to keep pace with this growth. Employees in different locations were relying on email to work together, often resulting in a “file management nightmare” of multiple versions of the same document, says Director of IT Chris Pesola. “We needed a better way to collaborate across multiple geographies and devices,” he says. As a cloud solution provider itself, Plex evaluated a number of collaboration solutions. But Dropbox Business emerged as the clear favorite primarily due to its ease of use. Having moved from a PC-only environment to one where all platforms were welcome, the company needed a service that would work seamlessly across devices. “We wanted the solution we chose to be easy enough that it wouldn’t be resisted,” Pesola says. “That’s hard to do when deploying any technology.”

“We wanted what people felt most comfortable with from a user interface, security, and deployment perspective. It needed to work well with Macs, PCs, smartphones, all of the above. It brought us back to one answer, which was Dropbox.”

Chris Pesola, Director of IT, Plex Systems


Letting users work with their favorite tools

Dropbox Business keeps employees productive because they can use their favorite applications from anywhere. “Our users love being able to open native Microsoft Office documents from the web,” Pesola says. The marketing department now collaborates on PowerPoint presentations using the Dropbox badge, which lets employees see who else is in the file and update to the latest version when changes are made. Members of the finance team now send contracts to sales reps as shared links or through shared folders. This makes it easy for reps to access and share these deal-closing documents with customers, often from mobile devices.

“If a prospect reaches out to a salesperson and says, ‘I’m ready to sign,’ they have their contracts at their fingertips,” says Pesola. The Admin Console helps Plex keep its BYOD environment secure, as the company monitors suspect usage or log-ins. If an employee loses a device or leaves the company, IT can transfer files or remote wipe the device.

“As the company grows and as the work environment becomes more spread out and on demand, we need to look to technologies that have those on-demand capabilities as well. Dropbox provides that.”

Katy Teer, Sr. Manager of Corporate Communications, Plex Systems


Reducing costs and boosting productivity

With Dropbox Business, Plex says it’s better positioned to scale with future growth. The storage limit for local drives and devices has been lowered, reducing the company’s long-term investment in hardware. “The immediate impact for us not having to upgrade our back-end architecture is six figures, easy,” Pesola says. For sales and marketing, email traffic has declined due to the use of shared folders. This allows employees to focus more on their work and customer needs instead of spending time figuring out which file version is the latest. And with access to key collateral and contracts through Dropbox on their mobile devices, sales reps are able to respond more quickly to customers. Bottom line? Reps can close more deals and increase revenue for the company.