客戶 / Refinery29

Dropbox Business 讓 Refinery29 沉著應對,創作出風格前衛的內容

總部位於紐約市的 Refinery29 是美國規模最大的自營時尚風格網站。Refinery29 是數百萬讀者的參考指標,提供時尚概念、購物和社群等資訊,讓讀者得以用一流的時尚、美容、料理、文化和生活概念,來表達自我。

風格不搭

站在時尚與流行生活品味的最前線,需要隨時掌握全球各大城市的脈動。Refinery29 在紐約、洛杉磯、舊金山、芝加哥、華盛頓特區和倫敦都有時尚編輯,讓讀者能瞭解最新的風格造型、流行話題和產品資訊。在世界各地安排機動的編輯團隊,對網站的內容有很大的助益,但是,要讓遠端的工作人員與 Refinery29 紐約總部分享檔案,就困難重重。一開始,紐約市的工作團隊會將檔案和相片存在辦公室的伺服器中,而各地的編輯則使用自己的 Dropbox 帳戶。然而,當檔案愈來愈多,就愈難找到特定資料的存放位置。整個 Refinery29 團隊移轉到 Dropbox Business 後,所有人都可以快速輕鬆地存取檔案,並用統一的方式分享重要內容。根據商業情報總監 Shawna Strayhorn 的說法,Dropbox 立刻讓工作流程變得更精簡。「有了 Dropbox,你永遠知道該去哪裡找資料,」她說。「有時會遇到要找某個人拿資料,才能讓手中工作繼續進行的情況,真的讓人感覺十萬火急。Dropbox 大大舒緩了這種壓力。」

「有了 Dropbox,你永遠知道該去哪裡找資料。有時遇到要找某個人拿資料,才能讓手中工作繼續進行的情況,真的讓人感覺十萬火急。Dropbox 大大舒緩了這種壓力。」

完美無瑕

網站內容上線之前,地方編輯使用的相片必須經過資深員工批准。Dropbox 資料夾讓個別的編輯與紐約的核心團隊能快速又輕鬆地共享檔案。Kurtz 解釋說:「我們可以直接在 Dropbox 中完成這項工作,不用反覆地上傳及下載相片檔案。真是幫了大忙。」Dropbox Business 的桌面應用程式,讓 Refinery29 的地方編輯團隊在家也能有效率地完成工作;而行動應用程式則是許多紐約員工四處奔波時的好幫手。透過 Dropbox,員工在攝影棚拍照或參加企業活動時,可以直接用手機快速查找重要檔案,並與其他同事協作。Refinery29 的行銷團隊也仰賴 Dropbox Business 來整理並分享資料。每當有新的行銷專案,行銷人員就會在 Dropbox 中建立一個資料夾,放置文件、圖像和其他行銷元素。Strayhorn 說:「Dropbox 對專案管理流程有很大的幫助。現在每個人都知道要去哪裡找特定活動的檔案;而我們也能妥善管理行銷素材的版本與存取權限。」Refinery29 利用 Dropbox Business 與外部夥伴交流訊息,不必使用電子郵件或 FTP 網站。團隊成員只要建立一個共享資料夾,並邀請相關的攝影師或撰稿人,就能互相分享檔案。

儲存優雅

Dropbox Business 讓 Refinery29 的日常運作變得順暢有效率。然而,當 Refinery29 遇到特別時期,才是 Dropbox 發揮最大功用的時候。其中一個例子就是 2012 年 10 月颶風珊迪侵襲美國東岸的那段時間。Kurtz 說:「Dropbox 在颶風來襲時救了大家。我們不必想盡辦法從家中遠端登入公司的伺服器,而且工作絲毫不受影響,一分鐘都沒有停下來。」雖然不小心刪除檔案不像颶風那樣嚴重,但是有了 Dropbox Business,這種事情就不會在 Refinery29 公司內發生。Kurtz 說,大家常常刪了檔案自己卻沒發現,幸虧有 Dropbox 的還原功能,彈指之間就能還原檔案。「我們的資料夾有太多人存取,因此能輕鬆還原遺失的檔案對我們來說相當有幫助,」她說。紐約時裝週是 Refinery29 一年中最重要的活動之一,這段期間,員工靠著 Dropbox 來處理排山倒海而來的資料與相片,好讓報導能順利刊登。編輯人員在當週需要負責走秀、街頭風格等各種報導,因此 Refinery29 會有數千張的圖片需要處理編輯。有了 Dropbox Business,編輯人員便能在短短 4 到 6 小時內完成照片挑選工作,然後刊登在網站上。公司在去年發現,若編輯人員能在時裝週期間遠端完成工作,便能產出更多網站內容。Kurtz 說:「為了要快速累積網站內容,我們過去在時裝週期間都必須要回到辦公室處理工作。但有了 Dropbox 之後,我們的編輯不用回到辦公室,也能隨時保持同步。時裝展之間的空檔,他們可以在家裡或其他任何地方工作,更有效率地完成報導內容。」Dropbox Business 加快 Refinery29 網站內容的上線速度,是網站保持活躍與成功的助力。有了 Dropbox ,即使出現狀況或截稿期近在眼前,Refinery29 都能沉著應對。

Customers / Refinery29

Dropbox Business Helps Refinery29 Keep Its Cool and Deliver Cutting Edge Content

Headquartered in New York City, Refinery29 is the largest independent fashion and style site in the United States. When it comes to connecting millions of readers to the ideas, shopping, and community that can help them express themselves through the best of fashion, beauty, food, culture, and home, Refinery29 is their feel-good destination.

Clashing Patterns

Staying at the forefront of fashion and lifestyle trends requires eyes and ears in the world's hottest cities. To keep its readers up on all the latest looks, stories and products, Refinery29 has trend-spotting editors located in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Washington DC and London. Having an agile editorial team around the globe was great for the site's content, but challenging when it came time for remote staff to share files with Refinery29's New York headquarters. Initially, the NYC team would save documents and photos onto a server in its office, while the various local editors would use personal Dropbox accounts. However, the more files that accumulated, the more difficult it became to keep track of where individual assets were saved. Moving the entire Refinery29 staff to Dropbox Business allowed everyone to have quick, easy access to files and a standardized way of sharing important content with each other. According to Director of Business Intelligence, Shawna Strayhorn, it quickly streamlined processes. "With Dropbox, you know exactly where to go to retrieve what you need," she says. "There's no more rushing to find someone to get assets so you can move forward on a project. It alleviates a lot of stress."

"With Dropbox, you know exactly where to go to retrieve what you need. There's no more rushing to find someone to get assets so you can move forward on a project. It alleviates a lot of stress."

Picture Perfect

Before content can go live on the Refinery29 website, the local editors must get photo approval from senior staff. Dropbox folders enable fast, easy sharing between the individual editors and the core team in New York. Kurtz explains, "Rather than uploading, downloading, and re-uploading photo selections, we can work right within Dropbox. It's really helpful." While the Dropbox Business desktop solution helps Refinery29's team of local editors work efficiently from their homes, the mobile app helps many of the company's NYC staffers operate out in the field. Using Dropbox, employees can quickly reference important files or collaborate with coworkers — right from their phones — when they're on photo shoots or attending corporate events. The Refinery29 marketing team also relies on Dropbox Business to organize and share assets. For each new marketing project, a Dropbox folder is created to house copy, imagery, and other necessary components. Strayhorn says, "Dropbox has really helped with the project management process. Now everyone knows where and how to find the right files for each campaign, and we're able to control access and manage versions more accurately." When it comes to exchanging information with external partners, Refinery29 uses Dropbox Business instead of email or FTP sites. Team members simply set up shared folders and add the appropriate photographers or content contributors so files can be shared back and forth.

Saving Grace

On a day-to-day basis, Dropbox Business helps Refinery29 share more smoothly and operate more efficiently. But the merits of the application have become particularly clear to Refinery29 during some of the more intense situations. One of these was Hurricane Sandy which hit the east coast hard in late October of 2012. Kurtz confirms, "Dropbox saved us during the hurricane. No one had to struggle to remotely log in to a server from home. We didn't have to stop working-even for 5 minutes." Though far less nerve-wracking than a hurricane, accidental file deletion is another hurdle Dropbox Business has helped Refinery29 overcome. Kurtz says that often people don't realize they've deleted files, but thanks to the Dropbox restore feature, getting files back is a snap. "It's incredibly helpful to be able to restore lost assets so easily when so many people are touching the folders," she adds. During New York Fashion Week — one of the most critical times for Refinery29 — Dropbox helps staff members keep pace with the massive influx of information and photos coming in to be featured on the company's website. Because editors cover shows, street styles, and more that week, Refinery29 has to edit thousands of images. Using Dropbox Business, editors are able to make selections and get them live on the site within 4-6 hours. This past year, the company discovered that allowing editors to work remotely during Fashion Week accelerates content development even further. Kurtz explains, "In order to generate content quickly, we used to have to work from the office that week. But because of Dropbox, our editors were able to stay connected without actually coming into the office. In between fashion shows, they could work from home — or wherever was convenient — and get stories out even faster and more efficiently." Dropbox Business allows Refinery29 to deliver content fast-helping it maintain its momentum and success. Even under challenging circumstances or deadlines, Refinery29 keeps its cool with Dropbox by its side.