客户 / Sundance

客户聚焦:2016 圣丹斯电影节

Dropbox Business 帮助该电影节简化挑选年度最佳独立电影作品的流程,让他们更从容地举办全球最著名的电影节之一。

面临的挑战

从 DVD 转变为数字格式

Quentin Tarantino、Steven Soderbergh 和 Darren Aronofsky 等许多当代知名导演正是在圣丹斯电影节上获得崭露头角的机会。圣丹斯电影节由 Robert Redford 创办的 Sundance Institute 运营,其挖掘新兴人才的流程本身就如同电影一般精彩。在 50,000 影迷于每年的 1 月齐集美国犹他州 Park City 盛大狂欢之前,电影节策划人员必须在短短几个月内从 12,600 部参赛影片中选出 200 部获奖作品。在此过程中,技术并非一直都扮演重要角色。节目策划人员通过电子邮件附件形式发送包含参赛影片更新的 Excel 电子表格,有时会导致混乱,搞不清楚哪个才是最新版本。电影节的策划人员来回通过 DVD 和 U 盘传递电影 — 这样共享从未上映过的新电影并不安全。“我们不知道策划人员能否及时获得相应的电影,也不知道这些电影是否送到了相关人员的手中。”高级策划经理 Adam Montgomery 说道。于是,电影节策划人员开始使用个人 Dropbox 帐户开展工作,这也使得该电影节能够轻松地迁移到 Dropbox Business。“现在我们有了用户熟悉并喜爱的工具,然后就可以开始改变他们的工作方式了。”IT 总监 Justin Simmons 说道。

解决方案

谱写新的协作脚本

现在,电影节策划人员利用 Dropbox 共享文件夹进行协作。此服务让评审员可以更轻松地看完每周必须看完的 25 部电影,因为一项集成功能会自动将通过 Dropbox 共享的每个视频加载到 Vimeo 视频播放器。通过在共享文件夹中保存包含评选状态的 Excel 文件,可以让多人一起编辑文件和添加反馈,确保每个人使用的都是最新版本。“我知道这些文档中的信息会实时更新。”Montgomery 说道。

借助视频预览功能,策划人员可在开始下载电影之前快速确认他们收到的文件是否正确。在电影被选为入围作品后,策划和展览团队可以轻松地向导演收集电影剪辑,以便在电影节上放映。“我们通过 Dropbox 文件请求向电影制作者或专家小组成员索取文件,而他们会将编辑过的版本放入正确的文件夹。”展览与制作部门技术总监 Holden Payne 说道。在电影节期间,通过共享媒体资料包和其他资料的 Dropbox 链接,为时间宝贵的工作人员消除了用电子邮件向每个记者发送文件的麻烦。

保持数据的安全性是优先任务,因为电影节处理的作品在首映之前必须保密,Montgomery 如是说。借助 Dropbox,电影节工作人员能将文件夹访问权限只提供给指定的策划人员。“无论何时,我们都可以非常轻松地视需要调整权限或重置权限。”Montgomery 说道。

成果

专心评选电影

借助此解决方案,电影节工作人员可以将更多时间用于关注初次上映的原创电影,比如最后获得奥斯卡大奖的《少年时代》(Boyhood) 和《爆裂鼓手》(Whiplash),减少花在处理后勤工作上的时间。“我要处理数千个容量高达 2-4GB 的文件。”Montgomery 说,“Dropbox Business 让我们得以快速、高效且可靠地推送这些数据。坦白讲,我都不确定之前我们是怎么做到的。”电影节的外部协作者网络大约 12,000 名电影制作者组成,他们都已熟悉该解决方案 — 这为与许多不同的人进行协作带来了优势。“极少有人提及 Dropbox 以外的服务。”Montgomery 说,“Dropbox 是这个社区共享数据时实际在采用的方式。”由于效率的提高,“我们可以尽可能地专心策划最精彩的独立电影盛宴。”Montgomery 说道。

Customers / Sundance

2016 Sundance Film Festival Customer Spotlight

The Festival uses Dropbox Business to streamline the process of selecting the year’s finest work in independent cinema and putting on one of the most celebrated film festivals in the world.

THE CHALLENGE

Shifting from DVD to digital

Quentin Tarantino, Steven Soderbergh, and Darren Aronofsky are just a few of the dozens of now famous directors who got their big breaks at the Sundance Film Festival. Run by the Robert Redford-founded Sundance Institute, the Sundance Film Festival has a process of discovering emerging talent that is itself movie-worthy. Before 50,000 film buffs converge on Park City, Utah, every year in January, Festival programmers must winnow 12,600 submissions to 200 award winners in just a few months. Technology hasn’t always been a hero in this story. Programmers would send Excel spreadsheets containing updates on film entries as email attachments, sometimes leading to confusion over what was the latest version. The Festival’s programmers shipped films back and forth on DVDs and thumb drives — neither of which were secure ways to share never-before-released films. “We didn’t know whether programmers got the right films on time, or if they were delivered to the wrong place,” says Adam Montgomery, Senior Manager of Programming. Festival programmers began using their personal Dropbox accounts to get work done, making the move to Dropbox Business an easy solution for the Festival. “Now that we have a tool that users know and love, we can start changing the way people work,” says Justin Simmons, IT Director.

THE SOLUTION

Writing a new script for collaboration

Today, Festival programmers collaborate using Dropbox shared folders. The service makes it easier for screeners to get through the 25 movies they must watch every week, as an integration automatically loads each video shared through Dropbox onto the Vimeo video player. Keeping Excel files containing screening status in shared folders allows multiple users to edit them and add feedback, ensuring that everyone is working off the latest version. “I always know that the information on those documents is going to be updated in real time,” Montgomery says.

With the video preview feature, programmers can quickly confirm they’ve received the correct file before they start downloading a film. Once a film is selected as a finalist, the programming and exhibition teams can easily collect clips from directors to screen at the Festival. “We’ll reach out to filmmakers or panelists through Dropbox file requests, and they’ll drop the edited version into the right folder,” says Holden Payne, Technical Director of Exhibition and Production. During the Festival, sharing Dropbox links to media kits and other assets spares time-strapped staff from having to email files to individual journalists.

Keeping data secure is a priority, as the Festival is dealing with work that must remain under wraps before the premiere, says Montgomery. Using Dropbox, Festival staff are able to grant folder access to only intended programmers. “It’s very easy to change permissions or reset them whenever you need to,” Montgomery says.

THE RESULTS

Focusing on the films

The solution has enabled Festival staff to spend more time on premiering original cinema, like eventual Oscar-winning films Boyhood and Whiplash, and less time on handling logistics. “I’m dealing with thousands of files that are two to four gigabytes,” Montgomery says. “Dropbox Business has enabled us to push that data quickly, efficiently, and reliably. And I’m honestly not sure how we did it before.” The Festival’s network of external collaborators, which includes some 12,000 filmmakers, is already familiar with the solution — a huge advantage when working with so many different people. “Very rarely does somebody bring up a service other than Dropbox,” Montgomery says. “It’s the defacto way in the community of sharing data.” With increased productivity, ”we can just focus on putting together the best program of independent films that we possibly can,” Montgomery says.