客户 / USA Gymnastics

Dropbox Business 帮助 USA Gymnastics 及其成员争金夺银

USA Gymnastics 是美国体操运动管理机构。这个机构负责制定国家的体操规则和政策;挑选并训练参加奥运会和世锦赛的队伍;以及发展基层和国家级的体操运动。USA Gymnastics 主办艺术体操、蹦床和翻腾体操、技巧体操和团体体操等一系列男女体操赛事,包括国内锦标赛和国际比赛。

逐渐成形

在 2008 年美国体操锦标赛后,USA Gymnastics 的赛事团队遇到了一个小小的技术故障,迫使他们认真地重新评估了在外办公的方式。按照平常的规程,员工要在比赛之前将资格证书文件、场地平面图和赛程等所有资料复制到他们的笔记本电脑上。但是有一次,一名员工在将赛后最新文档存回服务器时意外删除了几百个文件。

虽然团队从其他电脑上恢复了许多文件副本,但是对失去所有资料的恐惧促使他们主动寻求改变。赛事及技术常务董事 Jeff Smith 开始研究各种产品,希望找到能让笔记本电脑用户备份和交换文件的解决方案。许多 USA Gymnastics 员工都需要经常出差,因此 Smith 希望找到一种方法让员工能在不同的地点访问和共享信息。

他们花了一段时间来寻找最适合的方案,因为许多产品都只提供备份功能,却不允许进行共享,但是 Smith 最后在 Dropbox 中找到了他所寻找的答案。他的团队一开始使用大约 10 个 Dropbox Pro 帐户,并在 Dropbox Business 推出后立即改用。

“在国际赛事期间,许多员工 24 小时都在工作。要是能直接在手机上访问我们的文件库,并随时随地找到所需文档,对我们来说非常有帮助。”

展现实力

对 USA Gymnastics 的员工和成员来说,比赛活动通常会伴随着很多突发情况,因此他们急需掌握后勤信息,以便不时之需。轻松访问场地图纸和赛程,让工作人员能确保运动员、教练员和比赛官方人员在正确的时间抵达正确的场地。工作人员同时也需要随身携带行程电子表格和文档,以随时掌握何人要在何时到达何地。“利用 Dropbox Business,相关的所有人都能随手获得所需的文件和信息。”Smith 说道,“我们再也不需要使用共享硬盘和文件服务器。”

电视转播是比赛期间的另一个重头戏,他们需要对报道做精确到秒的安排。USA Gymnastics 团队通常会设置最多 5 人来决定在电视中报道哪些运动员和比赛,往往随时需要更改。“将电视节目表保存在 Dropbox Business 中,我们便能实时对其进行编辑。”Smith 解释道,“另外,我们可以将文件保存在里面,当下次有相同的赛事举办时,我们就能重新访问这些数据。”

将文件存储在一个方便访问的地方,也为 USA Gymnastics 的非赛事运营活动提供便利。利用共享文件夹,赛程总监和助理可以轻松地获得最新信息并控制文件版本。如果在特定赛事中有约聘人员加入,他们将能快速访问所需文档,并将文件保存到同一个地方,以便正式员工在未来接手。

由于有太多不同的人在管理文件,因此删除内容恢复成为了 USA Gymnastics 团队一项不可或缺的功能。正如 Smith 所解释的那样:“过去曾发生过有人意外删除文件的情况。Dropbox Business 能在此类事件再次发生时为我们提供保护。”

夺牌表现

考虑到 USA Gymnastics 员工在办公室外的大量工作,Dropbox Business 提供给该组织的最大优势之一就是能让他们的员工高效地远程办公。虽然大部分员工是在笔记本电脑上工作,但也有许多人依赖于 iPhone 和 Dropbox 应用。Smith 指出:“在国际赛事中,我们的许多员工 24 小时都在工作。要是能直接在手机上访问我们的文件库,并随时随地找到文档,对我们来说非常有帮助。”

当然,对 USA Gymnastics 来说,最重要的国际赛事就是奥运会。2012 年,Dropbox Business 便出现在了美国参加的比赛中,并为伦敦和印第安纳波利斯的员工提供访问权限。Smith 证实:“Dropbox 是我们组织的重要资源,让我们能在比赛期间与伦敦和美国国内的员工共享文档和信息。在整个过程中,Dropbox 帮了我们大忙。”

Customers / USA Gymnastics

Dropbox Business helps USA Gymnastics and its members go for the gold

USA Gymnastics is the nation's governing body for the sport of gymnastics. The organization sets the country's gymnastics rules and policies; selects and trains teams for the Olympic Games and World Championships; and develops gymnastics at grassroots and national levels. USA Gymnastics hosts a number of events for men's and women's gymnastics, rhythmic gymnastics, trampoline and tumbling, acrobatic gymnastics and group gymnastics, including national championships and international competitions.

Getting into Shape

After the 2008 U.S. Gymnastics Championships, the events team at USA Gymnastics experienced a technological blip that caused them to seriously reevaluate the way they were doing business on the road. Following the usual protocol, staff members had copied everything — from credentials documents to venue layout drawings to schedules — onto their laptops before the event. But when one employee went to place his updated post-event documents back onto the server, he accidentally deleted hundreds of files.

Although the team was able to recover many file copies from other computers, the scare of losing everything was a catalyst for change. Managing Director of Events and Technology Jeff Smith began exploring options with the hope of finding a solution that would allow laptop users to both back up and exchange files. Because many USA Gymnastics employees travel frequently, Smith looked for a way to allow employees to access and share information from a number of different locations.

It took some time to find the right fit — as many options only offered backups, not sharing — but Smith finally found exactly what he was looking for in Dropbox. His team began with about ten Dropbox Pro accounts and then moved to Dropbox Business as soon as it was available.

"A lot of our people are working 24/7 during international events. To have access to our file base right on our phones and be able to pull up documents anytime is extremely helpful."

Displays of Strength

For USA Gymnastics employees and members, competitive events typically come with lots of hustling, and a critical need to have logistical information at their disposal. Easy access to venue diagrams and schedules helps staff make sure athletes, coaches and officials are in the right place at the right time. And staff members need travel spreadsheets and documents handy to keep track of who is going where, and when. "With Dropbox Business, everyone involved has the files and info they need at their fingertips," says Smith. "We no longer have to use shared drives or a file server."

Television broadcasts are another important component of competition days, with down-to-the-second planning surrounding coverage. The USA Gymnastics team typically has up to five people determining which athletes and events will be featured on the television coverage — and changes are often made on the fly. "Having TV timetables on Dropbox Business allows us to edit them in real time," Smith explains. "Plus, we can store the files there and revisit the data if we have the same event again in the future."

Having one convenient place to store files also serves the USA Gymnastics in its non-event operations. With shared folders, program directors and assistants can easily stay up-to-date and control file versions. And if contract employees are brought on to help with certain events, they're able to quickly access the documents they need — and leave their files in one place for permanent staff to pick up down the line.

With so many different people managing files, deletion recovery is a crucial component for the USA Gymnastics team. As Smith explains, "We've had instances in the past where people have accidentally deleted files. It's nice to know Dropbox Business will protect us if that happens again."

Medal-worthy Performance

Given how much work USA Gymnastics employees do outside of the office, one of the most significant benefits Dropbox Business offers the organization is the ability stay efficient when working remotely. Although the majority of the staff works on laptops, many people also rely on iPhones and the Dropbox app. According to Smith, "A lot of our people are working 24/7 during international events. To have access to our file base right on our phones and be able to pull up documents anytime is extremely helpful."

Of course, the most important international event for USA Gymnastics is the Olympic Games. In 2012, Dropbox Business was right there at the USA events, plus provided access for staff in London and Indianapolis. Smith attests, "Dropbox was a huge resource for the organization, allowing us to share documents and information during our competitions and between staff who were working in London and stateside. Dropbox helped us through the entire process."