客戶 / Valiant
Play video

Valiant Entertainment 在 Dropbox Business 的協助下,以超人般的速度製作漫畫

Valiant Entertainment 至今已銷售超過 8000 萬冊漫畫,並致力成為業界第三大出版商。這間總部位於紐約的公司創立於 1989 年,目前已創造超過 1800 個故事角色,出現在各類印刷品、電影、遊戲上。

故事的新篇章

漫畫書的創作過程十分艱辛。漫畫內容來自形形色色的作者、草稿師、上墨師、著色師、和編輯,必須經過許多次的審閱與修改才能完成。數十年來,許多漫畫書出版社在創作過程中仰賴紙本檔案來完成工作,並往返寄送進行校稿。即使到了今日,出版社還是會出現延後出版的狀況,有時推遲幾週、有時進度甚至會落後數個月,讓漫畫迷癡癡苦等。

Valiant Entertainment 想要尋求更棒的工作模式。該公司在 2011 年投入巨額資金來協助業務發展後,立下志願要以比競爭者更聰明的方式來完成工作,加快當紅作品的出版速度。由於 Valiant 隨時要與 40 到 100 名自由作家及畫家合作,因此亟需一種簡單的工具,能支援外部人員與公司員工之間的協同工作。

公司研究了不同的選項,包括 FTP 伺服器、線上檔案傳送服務、和 Dropbox Business。不過,營運經理 Peter Stern 解釋:「只有一個選項提供好用的功能,能符合我們與日俱增的需求,而且不必強迫參與人員學習新的技能。」Dropbox Business 讓我們的全職員工與高達百名的外部撰稿人之間能無縫協作。」

「Dropbox Business 讓我們的全職員工與高達百名的外部撰稿人之間能無縫協作。」

團隊力量大

員工設定 Dropbox 的過程十分輕鬆,且方案內容符合公司業務增長的需求,讓 Valiant 再次確認這個解決方案的可行性。「推行 Dropbox Business 的過程完全不費吹灰之力,只需要運用現有的技術知識就搞定了,」Stern 說。「我們不用聘請專家來設置伺服器;也不用委外處理;也不用預測未來需要多少的儲存空間。我們只要設定好帳戶,就可以開始使用了。」

現在 Valiant 在創作過程的每個步驟中都用到 Dropbox Business。只要作者和畫家一提供故事大綱與角色設定,Valiant 的編輯人員就會將所有資料存至 Dropbox。這樣一來,所有的檔案隨時都可供存取,再也不必翻找信箱裡的附件。它也讓編輯人員能妥善掌控每個專案的進度。當腳本一完成,草稿師的初稿畫出來,就會把檔案存在 Dropbox 上。接著上墨師和著色師便可存取、更新檔案,並將它們存回 Dropbox 以供編輯人員審閱。「現在,我們在辦公室幾乎不需要處理紙本畫作,」Stern 說。「有了 Dropbox Business 的協助,我們每週都能準時將檔案交給印刷廠,這是公司開始執行出版業務以來從未有過的紀錄。」

Valiant 與國外的出版夥伴合作時也仰賴 Dropbox。國際夥伴需要在最短的時間內取得完整的漫畫書檔案,才能進行翻譯並重新設計。「我只要提供 Dropbox 資料夾的存取權限,他們就能夠立刻取得出版所需的完整檔案,」Stern 解釋。

隨時隨地保持工作戰鬥力

每一年,全球有數百場漫畫活動,因此差旅是漫畫書業務無可避免的工作之一。然而,當截稿期迫在眼前,Valiant 的員工在出差過程中就必須保持生產力。「我們有相當密集的展覽活動,員工必須離開所在的城市,前往參與,我們會在差旅途中利用 Dropbox Business 來處理檔案,並且隨時掌握像是製作媒體用漫畫樣書等工作進度,」Stern 補充。

Dropbox Business 甚至在珊迪颶風侵襲的期間,讓 Valiant 得以保持正常運作。 當時雖然無法進 Valiant 的辦公室上班,但是所有的公司檔案都有遠端備份,在颶風期間供員工隨時存取。Stern 說:「珊迪颶風讓整個城市停擺,但是多虧了 Dropbox,我們的出版工作一點也不受影響,作品仍然如期推出。」

在這個出版日期經常延誤的產業中,Valiant Entertainment 得以在出版進度方面保持良好紀錄,證明公司運用資源的做法與選擇沒有錯。「我們使用 Dropbox 兩年來,從未出現產品延遲出版的狀況,」Stern 說。「對我們這種規模的漫畫出版商來說,雖不知稱不稱得上無與倫比,但絕對令人驚嘆。」

Customers / Valiant
Play video

Valiant Entertainment produces comics at a superhero's pace using Dropbox Business

Valiant Entertainment has sold more than 80 million comic books to date and is aiming to become the third largest publisher in the industry. Established in 1989, the New York-based company currently owns a library of over 1,800 characters that appear in stories across print, film, video games, and more.

A new story in the series

Comic book creation can be a rather herculean task. With content coming from an assortment of writers, pencilers, inkers, colorists, and editors, it takes a lot of review and revisions to get stories right. For decades, many comic book publishers relied on paper methods during the creative process, shipping physical pages back and forth for approval. And even today it's not uncommon for publishers to have to push back releases by weeks or sometimes even months — which isn't ideal when hungry fans are waiting.

Valiant Entertainment wanted to find a better way. After undergoing a significant growth investment in 2011, the company made it a mission to work smarter than its competitors, producing stellar work faster. Because Valiant works with anywhere between 40 to 100+ freelance writers and artists at any one time, it needed a simple way to support collaboration between external parties and internal staff members.

The company explored different technology options, including an FTP server, online file-sending services, and Dropbox Business. But Operations Manager Peter Stern explains, "Only one of those options offered usability that matched our increasing demands without forcing people to learn a new skillset. Dropbox Business allows our fulltime staff to work and collaborate seamlessly with upwards of a hundred outside contributors."

"Dropbox Business allows our fulltime staff to work and collaborate seamlessly with upwards of a hundred outside contributors."

A team effort

Getting employees set up with Dropbox was easy — and also reassuring to Valiant, as it knew the solution could scale as the company grew. "We were able to implement Dropbox Business without any difficulties, using just our in-house knowledge," says Stern. "We didn't have to hire someone to set up a server; we didn't have to source anything off-site; we didn't have to predict how much space we would need down the line. We just set it up and used it."

Now Valiant uses Dropbox Business through every step of its creative process. As soon as writers and artists begin fleshing out storylines and characters, Valiant editors archive everything in Dropbox. This enables them to keep files readily accessible — rather than having to search through email attachments. It also allows them to quickly monitor the progress of individual projects. When scripts are developed and pencilers lay out pages, those too are placed in Dropbox. From there, inkers and colorists access and update the files, saving them back into Dropbox for editorial review. "We pretty much don't handle physical artwork in the office at all anymore," Stern says. "In part because of Dropbox Business, we've managed to successfully deliver files to our printer every week since we started publication."

When it comes to collaborating with foreign publishing partners, Valiant again relies on Dropbox. International partners need access to entire comic books — as fast as possible — so they can translate and redesign them. "For that process, I just give someone access to a folder on Dropbox and they have the full set of files they need for book production," explains Stern.

The power to stay productive anywhere

With hundreds of industry events taking place around the world every year, travel is an integral part of the comic book business. However, there are still deadlines to be met, so it's imperative that employees at Valiant maintain productivity when they're away. "We have a fairly aggressive convention schedule that frequently takes staff members out of the city — so we use Dropbox Business to work on files from the road and keep up on tasks like making advance copies of Valiant's comics available to the press," Stern adds.

Dropbox Business even helped Valiant keep operations running during Hurricane Sandy. Although the Valiant office was inaccessible, all of the company's files were backed up off-site and available to employees throughout the storm. Stern attests, "Hurricane Sandy shut down the city, but thanks to Dropbox, our publishing proceeded without a hiccup. We didn't miss a ship date."

In an industry where production delays are common, it's a huge testament to Valiant Entertainment's approach and choice in resources that the company has such a solid record for keeping to its publishing schedule. "In the two years that we've been using Dropbox, we have not shipped a single product late," says Stern. "For a comic publisher of our size — I don't know if that achievement is unmatched, but it's definitely impressive."