1. Sharing files and folders
  2. Payments and billing
  3. Security and privacy
  4. Dropbox Business
  5. Syncing and uploads
  6. Sign-in help
  7. Desktop client and web app
  8. Manage account
  9. Space and storage
  10. Photos and videos
  11. Mobile
  12. Dropbox Paper

How do I delete a member from my Dropbox Business team?

If you're a team admin or user management admin on a Dropbox Business team, you can delete or suspend a member's work account at any time. You can then reassign the license and invite another person to the team.

A suspended team member instantly loses access to their Dropbox Business team account, and all of its files and folders. The account will remain suspended until an admin chooses to remove the suspension.

Delete a member's account

  1. Sign in to your admin account.
  2. Click on Admin Console in the left sidebar.
  3. Click the gear icon for the person you want to remove and select Delete user from the menu.
  4. After choosing whether or not to use the remote wipe option, click Delete.

As a team admin can I delete my own account?

As the admin of a Dropbox Business team you cannot remove your own account from the team. Instead, you'll need to make another member of your team an admin, and then have the new admin remove your account.

Can team members delete accounts?

A Dropbox Business team member does not have the option to delete an account. If you are a Dropbox Business team member and you would like to delete your account, you'll need to contact your Dropbox Business team administrator


What happens when I delete a team member's account?

When you delete a team member's account, it becomes inaccessible, and shared links created by the account are disabled. Dropbox also stops syncing files to the team member's computers and mobile devices. Files that have already been synced to the team member's Dropbox folder can be removed from any device with an active internet connection using remote wipe.

In the process of deleting a member's account, you can also use account transfer. This option allows you to move all of the files and folders in the team member's work Dropbox to another person on the team. All of the files and folders that are in the former member's work Dropbox at the time you initiate the transfer will go to the recipient's Dropbox. Additionally, Dropbox will look to preserve any file sharing relationships, so any shared folders or folder ownership will also be transferred.