1. Sharing files and folders
  2. Payments and billing
  3. Security and privacy
  4. Dropbox Business
  5. Syncing and uploads
  6. Sign-in help
  7. Desktop app and dropbox.com
  8. Manage account
  9. Space and storage
  10. Photos and videos
  11. Mobile
  12. Dropbox Paper

Account transfer overview

Dropbox Business team and user management admins can easily transfer a deleted member's Dropbox files to another team member. The account transfer feature can be used while removing a user or at any time after deleting a user’s account.

All of the folders and files in the former member's work Dropbox will go to the recipient you've chosen. Dropbox will also look to preserve sharing relationships. For example, if the member owned a shared folder, Dropbox will transfer ownership of the folder to the recipient.


  • You can only transfer a user's files once.
  • If it doesn't make sense to transfer all of a former team member's files to a single person, you (the team admin) can transfer the content to your own account and then share the files with various different users who may need access.

How do I transfer a former team member's files to another member?

Delete a member's account and transfer

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin account.
  2. Enter the Admin Console from the left sidebar.
  3. Click the Members tab.
  4. Click the gear icon for the person you want to remove and select Delete user from the menu.
  5. In the pop-up window, leave the selection at Yes to immediately transfer the deleted user's Dropbox files to another team member.
  6. Enter the recipient's name or email address (the recipient must be a member of your Business account).
  7. After choosing whether or not to use the remote wipe option, click Delete.

Transfer from an already deleted member

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin account.
  2. Open the Admin Console.
  3. Click the Members tab.
  4. Next to Show, select Deleted from the dropdown.
  5. Click the gear icon to the right of the former member's name and select Manage files from the menu.
  6. Select the option to Transfer to another team member.
  7. Enter the recipient's name or email address and click Submit (the recipient must be a member of your Dropbox Business team).

What gets transferred when I use account transfer?

What is transferred:

  • All existing folders and files
  • All deleted files
  • Ownership of shared folders that the former team member owned
  • Membership to shared folders owned by other members of your Dropbox Business team
  • A copy of the Apps folder containing third-party application data

What is not transferred:

  • Groups cannot be transferred via account transfer. Instead, the account admin or a group member will need to manually add new team members to groups.
  • Shared links created by the former member (the links will no longer work).
  • Previous versions of files
  • Membership to shared folders owned by people outside of your Dropbox Business team. Only copies of these folders are transferred.
  • Datastores (a type of data that some third-party apps may use to store their data)

Note: If you use account transfer some time after a member's account was deleted from the team, the contents of these folders will be whatever is in them when you complete the transfer, rather than when the member's account was deleted from team.

How can I keep track of my account transfer activity?

View account transfer activity

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin account.
  2. Click on Admin Console in the left sidebar.
  3. On the Activity page, view the Activity feed to confirm if the deleted member's files were transferred to another team member.

You will receive a confirmation email whenever an account transfer occurs.

What should I do if an account transfer fails?

A recipient can only receive files from a single deleted user at a time. If you've deleted several team members and transferred their files to a single user within a short period, then the file transfer may fail temporarily. You should be notified via email if a transfer fails, at which point you can attempt the transfer again.

To prevent file-transfer failures, it is best to request a single account transfer, wait a few minutes, and then request the next transfer for the next account, and so on until all of the files or accounts are transfered.

Alternatively, the team admin or the previous file owner can share individual files or folders as needed.

What will account transfer look like for the recipient?

When you use account transfer, the deleted member's files will appear in a new folder labeled [Deleted User’s] files at the root level of the recipient’s work Dropbox.

Dropbox will look to preserve the deleted member's sharing relationships. Learn more about this and what else gets transferred.