How do I remove or unshare a shared folder?

If you don’t need a shared folder anymore, there are a couple of things you can do. Depending on your permissions to the folder, you can take different actions:

  • Owner: Owners of a shared folder can remove it from their Dropbox, unshare it with certain members, or unshare it with all members
  • Member: Members of a shared folder can leave the folder and delete it from their Dropbox account

Learn how to tell if you’re an owner, editor, or viewer in a shared folder.

Sections in this article:

Owners and members: How to delete a shared folder from your account

There are two ways to delete a shared folder from your Dropbox account:

  • Temporarily delete the folder (with the option to add it back later)
  • Permanently remove your access to the folder

Temporarily delete a folder (with the option to add it back later)

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Files.
  3. Navigate to or search for the shared folder you’re interested in.
  4. Click (ellipsis) next to the shared folder name.
  5. Click Delete.

Permanently remove your access to a folder

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Files.
  3. Navigate to the shared folder you want to permanently remove from your Dropbox account.
  4. Click Share next to the folder.
  5. Click the dropdown next to your name.
  6. Click Remove my access.

If you remove your access to a folder accidentally, you will need to ask the owner of the shared folder to invite you again.

Owners: How to remove a member from a shared folder

If you need to make sure that someone no longer has access to a shared folder, you can either remove a member or unshare the folder.

When you remove a member a folder, that member loses access to the shared folder. When you unshare a shared folder, all members lose access to the shared folder. You can choose to leave members a copy of the folder, but it won’t sync with anyone else’s copy.

Owners, and sometimes editors, can remove members from a shared folder. Owners can choose if editors can manage access to a shared folder.

Remove a member from a shared folder using dropbox.com

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Files.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Click (ellipsis) next to the shared folder name.
  5. Click the dropdown menu next to the member you want to remove.
  6. Click Remove.
  7. Choose if you want to leave the member a copy of the shared folder.
  8. Click Remove.

Learn more about restricting access to folders within team folders.

Remove a member from a shared folder using the Dropbox desktop app

  1. Open your Dropbox folder.
  2. Right-click or command-click the shared folder.
  3. Select Share…
  4. Next to the name of a member, click the dropdown and select Remove.
  5. Click Share.

Owners: How to unshare a shared folder

If you're the owner of a shared folder you can unshare the folder at any time. Editors and viewers can't unshare a folder.

Unshare a folder on dropbox.com

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Files.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Click (ellipsis) next to the shared folder name.
  5. Click Folder settings.
  6. Click Unshare folder.
  7. In the window that appears, decide if members can keep a copy of the shared folder. Then click Unshare.

What happens when I unshare a folder?

When you unshare a folder:

  • The files are immediately removed from each member's account on dropbox.com.
  • The files are removed from each member's linked computers the next time the Dropbox desktop app syncs. However, the files are cached for a short time.
  • The files are permanently deleted from each member's account. Former members can't recover these files.

If you unshare a shared folder, you can let members keep a copy of the folder. If you choose this option, be sure to tell the members that the folder is no longer shared, and that edits they make in their copy of the folder won’t sync to anyone else.

How to let someone keep a copy of a shared folder

When you unshare a folder or remove a member from a folder, you can choose if they can keep a copy of that folder:

  • If you choose to let the member keep a copy, they have a copy of the folder from the point in time when you remove them or unshare the folder. To avoid confusion, you can let them know that their copy will no longer sync with other accounts.
  • If you choose not to let the member keep a copy:
    • The files are immediately removed from each member's account on dropbox.com.
    • The files are removed from each member's linked computers the next time the Dropbox desktop app syncs. However, the files are cached for a short time.
    • The files are permanently deleted from each member's account. Former members can't recover these files.

We’re sorry to hear that. Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback! Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!

Community answers

    Other ways to get help

    Community

    Twitter support

    Guided help

    Other ways to get help

    Community

    Twitter support

    Guided help

    Other ways to get help

    Community

    Twitter support

    Contact support