{"en":"This page is not currently available in your language.","id":"Halaman ini sekarang belum tersedia dalam bahasa Anda.","ms":"Laman ini kini belum boleh didapati dalam bahasa anda.","es_ES":"Esta página no está disponible en tu idioma en este momento.","da_DK":"Denne side er i øjeblikket ikke tilgængelig på dit sprog.","fr":"Cette page n'est actuellement pas disponible dans votre langue.","de":"Diese Seite ist zurzeit nicht in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.","en_GB":"This page is not currently available in your language.","pl":"Ta strona aktualnie nie jest dostępna w Twoim języku.","it":"Al momento questa pagina non è disponibile nella tua lingua.","nl_NL":"Deze pagina is momenteel niet beschikbaar in je taal.","nb_NO":"Denne siden er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig på språket ditt.","ru":"На данный момент эта страница недоступна на вашем языке.","zh_TW":"此頁面目前沒有您語言的版本。","sv_SE":"Denna sida är för närvarande inte tillgänglig på ditt språk.","th_TH":"หน้านี้ยังไม่มีให้บริการในภาษาของคุณในขณะนี้","zh_CN":"本页面暂无您所需的语言版本。","ja":"申し訳ありませんが、このページは選択した言語ではご利用になれません。","pt_BR":"Esta página não está disponível no momento em seu idioma.","ko":"현재 이 페이지는 한국어 번역이 제공되지 않습니다.","es":"Esta página aún no está disponible en tu idioma.","uk_UA":"На даний момент ця сторінка недоступна на вашій мові.","en_AU":"This page is not currently available in your language."}

What happens when I delete files in Dropbox?

When you delete a file from Dropbox, it's no longer visible in any of the folders you see in your account. However, the file is not yet permanently deleted. Rather, it's moved into a queue for permanent deletion. This queuing enables features like file recovery and version history. Depending on what type of Dropbox account you have, file recovery and version history differs:

  • For most Basic and Plus users, files are recoverable for 30 days
  • For Plus subscribers with extended version history, files are recoverable for 1 year
  • For most Professional and Dropbox Business customers, files are available for 120 days

Permanent deletions

You can permanently delete a file yourself to skip the above queuing process. Permanent deletion of a file will not allow you or Dropbox to restore these files at a later date. This applies to manually permanently deleting a file, as well as a file exceeding the recovery period specific to your account type. Here's what you should know about permanent deletions:

  • This action will begin a permanent deletion process that can take up to 60 days in the normal course of operations.
  • Permanently deleting a file means that you will not be able to recover it.

What happens when I delete files from a shared folder?

You can also permanently delete a shared folder.

Data destruction mechanisms

Dropbox uses a secure deletion process to delete data from our servers. Additionally, when a Dropbox storage disk has reached the end of its useful life or is damaged, we follow a decommissioning process that is designed to physically destroy the disk to the point data cannot be recovered. Our third-party service providers also follow secure destruction processes for media they control.

Dropbox Business Administrators

When you remove a team member using the delete user function, the non-shared files are still associated with the disabled account. The files will not be permanently deleted until you take further action.

You will have the option to transfer files or permanently delete files when you are removing the member's account using the Manage files feature:

  1. Click Manage files.
  2. Select the file.
  3. Click Permanently delete.

Notes:

  • If you choose to Permanently delete a team member's files, the deletion process can take up to 60 days in the normal course of operations.
  • You can view a list of disabled accounts in the admin console.

We’re sorry to hear that. Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback! Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!

Community answers

    Other ways to get help

    Community

    Twitter support

    Contact support