Set folder permissions
Shared folders are at the heart of collaboration in Dropbox, so take some time to familiarize yourself with how they work.
As an admin, your job is to make sure the right people have access to the right files. Since access to files is determined on a per-folder basis, you can rest assured that team members are only seeing the files they need to, and nothing else.
This article is meant to give you a quick overview of how folder permissions work in Dropbox Business, but if you want to learn more about shared folders, make sure to read the Collaborate with shared folders article in the Dropbox Business User Guide.
Understanding the default setting: all folders are private
Each team member (including admins) has his or her own private work space in Dropbox. Everything stored in Dropbox is private by default, so you can rest assured that others can only access the files you choose to share with them.
When work is ready, members can invite collaborators to shared folders, or they can send copies of their work to other people by using shared links.
Shared folder permissions
Anyone on your team can create a shared folder. They’re created by sending invitations to a Dropbox user’s email address. Once a user accepts the invitation, the shared folder appears inside their Dropbox folder and its contents automatically sync to their linked computers and mobile devices.
Admins, like any member of a Dropbox Business team, can only access folders to which they’ve been invited.
There are three roles in a shared folder:
- Owner can change view/edit permissions, invite additional people, and transfer ownership to someone else. This is the default role for whoever initially shares a folder.
- Editor can add/edit/delete files in the folder just like an owner. If the owner allows it, editors can also invite people to the folder, remove other members from the folder, and change the roles of other members. Editor is the default setting for the people you invite.
- Viewer is the most limited role and can’t add/edit/delete files in the folder. A viewer will be able to tell that they have view-only permissions because of the lock icon that appears on the shared folder: