How do I delete a member from my Dropbox for Business team?
If you're a team admin or user management admin on a Dropbox for Business team, you can delete a member's work account at any time. Once the account is deleted, you can reassign the license and invite another person to the team.
Delete a member's account
- Note: Once you've deleted a member from your team you can transfer the files to a new team member.
As a team admin can I delete my own account?
As the admin of a Dropbox for Business team you cannot remove your own account from the team. Instead, you'll need to make another member of your team an admin, and then have the new admin remove your account.
Can team members delete accounts?
A Dropbox for Business team member does not have the option to delete an account. If you are a Dropbox for Business team member and you would like to delete your account, you'll need to contact your Dropbox for Business team administrator.
What happens when I delete a team member's account?
When you delete a team member's account, it becomes inaccessible, and shared links created by the account are disabled. Dropbox also stops syncing files to the team member's computers and mobile devices. Files that have already been synced to the team member's Dropbox folder can be removed from any device with an active internet connection using remote wipe.
- Note: The files in a deleted Dropbox for Business user account will not be permanently deleted unless the team admin takes further action.
In the process of deleting a member's account, you can also use account transfer. This option allows you to move all of the files and folders in the team member's work Dropbox to another person on the team. All of the files and folders that are in the former member's work Dropbox at the time you initiate the transfer will go to the recipient's Dropbox. Additionally, Dropbox will look to preserve any file sharing relationships, so any shared folders or folder ownership will also be transferred.