What's a conflicted copy?

« Back to Help Center

If two people change the same file at the same time, Dropbox won't try to merge the changes. Instead, it will save the original file as well as a second version which has the same name but is appended with "conflicted copy," the name of the person or computer responsible, and the date the conflict occurred. By creating a conflicted file, Dropbox ensures that all changes are preserved and nobody will overwrite another person's hard work.

A conflicted file and the original copy
Conflicting changes are saved separately

Conflicted copies can also occur when a file is left open on another computer, especially when using applications with an auto-save feature. Closing the file from within the application on either computer should prevent further conflicts.

Category: Sharing

Was this article helpful? Yes No