Dropbox team users: The admin of your team cannot manage your account, or view any of file or folder that you have not shared with the admin. However, the admin does have the ability to remove you from a team. If your admin removes you from a team, you will automatically leave the team folder, and your work account will transition back to a personal account.
Dropbox Business users: Your team admin can manage team members' work Dropbox accounts. Your team admin can also access your account using the "sign in as user" feature. If you’re a non-admin member of a Dropbox Business team, your admin may sign in to your account to do any of the following:
- View a team member's folder structure
- Share files and folders with others
- View, open, and download files
- Delete files, or restore deleted files
If you're a Dropbox Business team member, and you have connected your personal and work Dropbox accounts, "sign in as user" will not allow team admins to access your personal account in any way. Only your Business account is accessible to admins.
Additional questions on Dropbox Business admin controls
To protect company data, admins can determine whether you can share files and folders with people who aren’t on your team. Admins also have access to audit logs that allow them to view the email addresses of people with whom you’ve shared.
By default, Dropbox allows you to link both a personal and a work Dropbox to a desktop at once. Admins have the ability to prevent you from linking both accounts, but this only applies to the desktop application, not mobile devices or the web.
By default, everything in your Dropbox Business account is private. Other team members, including admins, won't be able to access your files unless you share them using shared links or shared folders.
If an admin removes you from a Dropbox Business team, your work account will be deactivated, and you’ll no longer be able to login to that account. Upon removing your account, admins will be able to remotely wipe the work Dropbox from any devices that you’ve linked to your account, and also transfer the contents of your account to another member of the team.
If an admin wipes your device(s), Dropbox will delete the contents of your work Dropbox the next time your device(s) are online. Transferring the contents of your work Dropbox would allow another member to access your work files, and all of your sharing relationships (including ownership of shared folders) will remain intact. Admins can transfer your account while removing you from the team or anytime after you’ve been removed, but can only use remote wipe while you are on the team or while being removed. Once you’ve been removed from the team, admins will not be able to use remote wipe because the Dropbox app will no longer be linked to any of your devices.