{"en":"This page is not currently available in your language.","id":"Halaman ini sekarang belum tersedia dalam bahasa Anda.","ms":"Laman ini kini belum boleh didapati dalam bahasa anda.","es_ES":"Esta página no está disponible en tu idioma en este momento.","da_DK":"Denne side er i øjeblikket ikke tilgængelig på dit sprog.","fr":"Cette page n'est actuellement pas disponible dans votre langue.","de":"Diese Seite ist zurzeit nicht in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.","en_GB":"This page is not currently available in your language.","pl":"Ta strona aktualnie nie jest dostępna w Twoim języku.","it":"Al momento questa pagina non è disponibile nella tua lingua.","nl_NL":"Deze pagina is momenteel niet beschikbaar in je taal.","nb_NO":"Denne siden er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig på språket ditt.","ru":"На данный момент эта страница недоступна на вашем языке.","zh_TW":"此頁面目前沒有您語言的版本。","sv_SE":"Denna sida är för närvarande inte tillgänglig på ditt språk.","th_TH":"หน้านี้ยังไม่มีให้บริการในภาษาของคุณในขณะนี้","zh_CN":"本页面暂无您所需的语言版本。","ja":"申し訳ありませんが、このページは選択した言語ではご利用になれません。","pt_BR":"Esta página não está disponível no momento em seu idioma.","ko":"현재 이 페이지는 한국어 번역이 제공되지 않습니다.","es":"Esta página aún no está disponible en tu idioma.","uk_UA":"На даний момент ця сторінка недоступна на вашій мові.","en_AU":"This page is not currently available in your language."}

What is locked state?

A team can end up in locked state if their trial period expires. If your team enters locked state, your team will have view-only access to your content. Specifically:

  • File syncing will stop
  • You will not be able to create or upload any new files and folders
  • Most premium features, such as file requests and invite enforcement, will be disabled 
  • Files will not be removed and team members will still be able to access them

How to get out of locked state

If you are a team member, you have two options:

If you are a team admin, you can either upgrade your subscription or disband the team. We recommend team admins take action as soon as you can to preserve the integrity of your team. Once a team is in locked state, members can leave the team.

Upgrade your subscription from locked state

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click See next steps in the red banner at the top of your screen.
  3. Click the blue Keep Dropbox Business button.
  4. Select a Dropbox Business plan.
  5. Fill in your payment information.
    1. Note: Before upgrading, you'll want to remove users who do not need access to the team content to avoid paying for unnecessary licenses. You'll also want to cancel any nonessential pending invites.
  6. Click Complete purchase.

After upgrading, you’ll need to re-invite any members who may have left your team while it was in locked state. These members will have to accept your invitation in order to rejoin the team.

Disband the team

When a team admin disbands a team, all team member accounts become individual Dropbox accounts. Team admins receive a copy of all team content. Any team member who is not a team admin loses access to the team content. Team members keep access to their own files and folders.

Additionally, once a team disbands, the following occurs:

  • The team structure is deleted
  • Shared folders outside of team spaces keeps sharing relationships
  • Pending invites are deleted
  • Suspended users are deleted
  • Shared links to team-owned content break; links for shared folders/files do not
  • Team content created by deleted team members is lost permanently
  • Archived folders are deleted
  • Deleted files and folders become un-restorable

To disband your team:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Go to the Locked State Decision page.
  3. Click Cancel Dropbox Business and disband my team.
  4. Check the box to confirm that you understand disbanding is permanent.
  5. Click Disband team.

Recreate your team

If you previously disbanded a team and you attempt to create a new team, you may be asked if you’d like to recreate your former team. You’ll be able to re-invite members who were part of your team during your Dropbox trial.

To recreate your team: 

  1. Open dropbox.com/business/buy in your web browser. You’ll be redirected to the Recreate your team page.
  2. Update your team information including name, contact number and company size.
  3. Select the members you want to re-invite.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Choose a either a Standard or Advanced plan.
  6. Choose whether you’d like to be billed yearly or monthly. 
  7. Enter payment details.
  8. Review the terms and conditions and check the box next to “I agree…”.
  9. Click Complete Payment.

 

If members who were previously on your team joined a new Dropbox Business team, you won’t be able to invite them back to your team.

What happens if I do nothing?

If you do nothing, your team will stay in locked state indefinitely. Everyone will continue to have view-only access. Further collaboration will not be possible. Team members will be able to leave at will.

We’re sorry to hear that. Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback! Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!

Community answers

    Other ways to get help

    Community

    Twitter support

    Contact support