Remove a member from a shared folder
- Sign in to dropbox.com.
- Click the Files tab.
- Click the Sharing tab.
- Scroll to the Folders in your Dropbox section.
- Click the ... (ellipsis) icon next to the shared folder, then click Share.
- Click the dropdown menu for the member you want to remove.
- Click Remove.
Removing shared folder contents from members' hard drives
When you remove a member from a shared folder, you have the option to let them keep a copy of the shared folder and its files.
If you choose not to let members keep a copy:
- The files are immediately removed from each member's account on dropbox.com.
- The files are removed from each member's linked computers the next time the Dropbox desktop app syncs. However, the files are cached for a short time.
- The files are permanently deleted from each member's account. Former members can't recover these files.
If you allow removed members to keep a copy of the shared folder, you might want to avoid confusion by letting them know that their copy will no longer sync with other accounts.
Remove a member from your desktop
On some computers you can remove members from shared folders from the Dropbox desktop app. If you haven't already, download the desktop app.
Click the dropdown menu below, and select the computer operating system that you’d like to see instructions for.