If your Dropbox Business team downgrades or reaches the end of the trial period, your team may be transitioned to a free team. Free teams keep access to:
Each free team receives one team folder to organize and manage access to shared content.
Team members can connect work and personal Dropbox accounts, and easily toggle between the two. Both accounts are accessible on dropbox.com, and on any connected computer or mobile device.
A group is a preset list of members. By creating a group you can share files or folders with everyone in that list with a single click, rather than adding colleagues one-by-one.
Team members can limit access to shared folders and links to team members only.
Team admins can upgrade a team to Dropbox Business:
Your team will upgrade with the same number of team members you currently have. If you want to upgrade with fewer members, remove team members you don't want to upgrade first.
Note: When you upgrade, all admins of the team become team admins on the new Dropbox Business account. Not sure who on your team is an admin? Go to your Team page and look at the status of each team member to see if they are an admin.
Canceling a Dropbox Business trial removes your access to the additional space that comes with it. You'll also lose access to other features exclusive to Dropbox Business. This includes the Team folder manager, which is used to manage membership of team folders. The Team folder manager allows you to change the groups that a team folder is shared with.
After canceling, your groups and sharing relationships remain.
When you downgrade from Dropbox Business, your team becomes a free team. Everyone who was a member of your Business team is still a member of your free team and you’ll keep your team folders. However, when your team becomes a free team, you lose:
No, free teams are created when a Dropbox Business team downgrades or reaches the end of their trial period.
By default, the original team admins stay the admins after your team downgrades. the team creator is the admin of the team. This original admin can then make any other team member an admin. Admins have the following permissions:
When your team becomes a free team, all your unshared files remain private unless you share them. You also retain full ownership over your data and your account.
Only the admin of a team can remove team members. To remove members:
You can search for a team, and join if one exists, using the domain name of the email address associated with your Dropbox account. This may be a Dropbox Business team or a free team. To join a team if one exists on your domain:
If you’re a member of a free team, you can leave your team. When you leave a team, you lose access to the team folder and any groups you were a part of. If you connected a personal account, your work files are moved to your personal account.
If you would like to leave a team:
If you're an admin of a free team, you can delete the team. Deleting a team removes members from team folders and groups, and returns them to personal Dropbox accounts.
When a member of a team goes over their individual storage quota, shared folders or files stop syncing for that team member only. No files are deleted, and syncing will resume when the team member is under quota again. A single team member going over quota does not affect any other members of a team.
When you leave a team you lose access to the company team folder. To regain access to the contents of this folder, you can rejoin that team.
If the folder you’ve lost access to is not a team folder, then that folder likely had sharing permissions that limited access. By leaving the team, you also lost access to this shared folder. To regain access you can either rejoin the team, or ask the shared folder owner to update the folder permissions to allow non-team collaborators.
You cannot receive referral bonuses on your work team account. If you would like to apply this bonus to your personal account, contact Dropbox support.