Suspended team members immediately lose access to their Dropbox Business account, along with all files, folders, and Paper docs. However, a suspended account continues to use a license and admins can unsuspend them later.
If you want to recover deleted files from a suspended account, you have until the version history period ends (120 days for most teams).
Suspend a team member:
If you unsuspend a team member, they immediately regain access to their account. They receive an email stating that their account is active again, and they can sign in using their existing password (unless your team uses SSO).
What happens to shared folders and shared links when a team member is suspended?
Shared folders and shared links still work while a team member is suspended.
What happens on connected devices when a member is suspended?
When a member is suspended, their work account is unlinked from all devices. You can choose to delete content from this member’s devices when you suspend them. If you do, their work Dropbox folder is deleted from all connected devices the next time those devices connect to the internet.
I'm a Dropbox Business team member, and I can't log in because my account is suspended.
If you're a team member and your account has been suspended, you should receive an email letting you know. If you try to sign in or create a new account, you'll also see a message saying that your account is suspended.
If you need access to your account, you'll need to speak with your admin. Can't sign in to view your admins? Try contacting your company's help desk, IT department, or management team for help.
What happens if I'm using Active Directory?
Changes made to user status in Active Directory are only pushed to Dropbox Business if you use the Dropbox AD Connector or a third party application. In most cases, user state changes only move in one direction (from Active Directory to Dropbox Business), but this depends on the particular application you're using.
I'm a Dropbox Business team member—if I’m suspended do I also lose access to my personal account?
No, a suspended work account doesn’t suspend your personal account. However, your personal and work accounts are disconnected.
Deleted team members immediately lose access to their Dropbox Business account, along with all files, folders, and Paper docs. After deleting a team member, admins can choose to reuse that license and invite another person to the team.
Delete a team member:
Note: After deleting a team member account, you have seven days to recover them if you made a mistake.
What happens when I delete a team member?
When you delete a team member's account, the following things happen:
Transfer a member’s file content
When deleting a member's account, admins can transfer the deleted member's files to another team member. Account transfer moves all files and folders in the team member's work account (as of the date of the transfer) to another person on the team. Account transfer helps preserve any shared folder relationships so these don't break.
Admins have a limited time to use account transfer, based on the version history period for their team (120 days for most teams). A deleted account can be transfer at any time before the version history period is over.
Recover a team member account
If a team member account is accidentally deleted, the admin has seven days to recover the account. Recovering a team member reactivates their account with the same files and permissions, as if the account was never deleted.
As a team admin can I delete my own account?
As the admin of a Dropbox Business team you can't remove your own account from the team. Instead, you need to make another member of your team an admin, and then have the new admin remove your account.
Can team members delete accounts?