{"en":"This page is not currently available in your language.","id":"Halaman ini sekarang belum tersedia dalam bahasa Anda.","ms":"Laman ini kini belum boleh didapati dalam bahasa anda.","es_ES":"Esta página no está disponible en tu idioma en este momento.","da_DK":"Denne side er i øjeblikket ikke tilgængelig på dit sprog.","fr":"Cette page n'est actuellement pas disponible dans votre langue.","de":"Diese Seite ist zurzeit nicht in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.","en_GB":"This page is not currently available in your language.","pl":"Ta strona aktualnie nie jest dostępna w Twoim języku.","it":"Al momento questa pagina non è disponibile nella tua lingua.","nl_NL":"Deze pagina is momenteel niet beschikbaar in je taal.","nb_NO":"Denne siden er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig på språket ditt.","ru":"На данный момент эта страница недоступна на вашем языке.","zh_TW":"此頁面目前沒有您語言的版本。","sv_SE":"Denna sida är för närvarande inte tillgänglig på ditt språk.","th_TH":"หน้านี้ยังไม่มีให้บริการในภาษาของคุณในขณะนี้","zh_CN":"本页面暂无您所需的语言版本。","ja":"申し訳ありませんが、このページは選択した言語ではご利用になれません。","pt_BR":"Esta página não está disponível no momento em seu idioma.","ko":"현재 이 페이지는 한국어 번역이 제공되지 않습니다.","es":"Esta página aún no está disponible en tu idioma.","uk_UA":"На даний момент ця сторінка недоступна на вашій мові.","en_AU":"This page is not currently available in your language."}

Deleting a Dropbox account

Deleting your Dropbox account deletes all of your data from dropbox.com and unlinks your devices from Dropbox. When you delete your Dropbox account:

  • Any computers, phones, and tablets linked to your account stop syncing
  • You can't access your account on dropbox.com
  • You can't edit files in shared folders
  • Your files stay in the Dropbox folder on your computer
  • Files you shared in shared folders are still available to folder members
  • Your files are deleted from Dropbox servers

Dropbox Basic, Plus, and Professional users

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click your avatar.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Under General, click Delete account.

If you delete your account, we will initiate deletion of the Dropbox files you store on Dropbox after 30 days. If you mark a file within your account for permanent deletion, we will permanently delete it within 60 days in the normal course of operations.

If you cancel a Dropbox Plus or Professional subscription, then your account becomes a Dropbox Basic account. You can then permanently delete your account. 

Important note: Deleting a Dropbox Basic, Plus, or Professional account can't be undone.

Dropbox Business team admins

If you cancel a Dropbox Business subscription, then all team members will be downgraded to Dropbox Basic accounts. These accounts will still be connected through a free team. Team members can choose to leave the team at any time.

To permanently delete a team, along with all its member account data and file data, follow these steps:

  1. Delete all members from your team.
  2. Cancel your Dropbox Business subscription.
  3. Delete your own account.

Dropbox Business team members

If you're a Dropbox Business team member, you can't delete accounts or cancel your subscription. If you're a team member, and you'd like to delete your account, contact your team admin.

Dropbox Business team admins can delete team members. As a safety measure, team admins can recover a team member within seven days of deletion.

Alternatively, to retain the data and files associated with a deleted team member account, team admins can transfer the deleted team member’s account to another active team member. 

Notes

  • Files located in a deleted user's shared folders are still available to other members of the shared folder. These files can be accessed, edited, deleted, or permanently deleted by remaining shared folder members, depending on the permissions set by the team admin.
  • Copies of your files are still available within your team after account deletion. Check with your team admin if you have questions about your organization's data retention polices, backup processes, or other obligations.

What happens if my work account is deleted from a Dropbox Business team?

We’re sorry to hear that. Let us know how we can improve:

Thanks for your feedback! Let us know how this article helped:

Thanks for your feedback!

Community answers

    Other ways to get help

    Community

    Twitter support

    Contact support