Soon we’ll be giving users of Dropbox for Business the ability to put both a work Dropbox and a personal Dropbox on the same computer or device. Users will be able to access both their work and personal files in one place while keeping them separate and secure.
At the same time, this means that we’ll be able to release a whole new set of features for IT managers, giving increased control and visibility over the Dropbox for Business account. Soon, admins will be able to take advantage of the following new tools to keep company data safe:
With sharing audit logs, you'll be able to track how files are being shared inside and outside your company, in addition to tracking other activity. You’ll be able to quickly view a running log of sharing activity or download a comprehensive report that you can plug into your existing auditing tools for in-depth analysis.
The sharing audit log will capture events for both shared folders and shared links. An event will be recorded when someone creates a shared folder, joins a shared folder, sends out a shared link to a document, opens a shared link to a document, and so on. For many of these events, the log will specify whether the action involves someone outside your team.
Each line of activity in the running log will show the name of the user taking the action (where possible), the name of the file or folder, the IP address (where possible) of the device where the action originated, and the general time when the action occurred. The downloadable report will have more details and let you view the activity for a specific date range.
Yes. You'll be able to use the downloadable report to filter sharing activity and cut through the mountain of data to get the answers you're looking for. You'll be able to trace the activity related to a specific file or folder or examine the sharing activity of an individual team member.
Using remote wipe, both admins and team members can delete the entire Dropbox folder from linked computers, mobile phones, and tablets. A user can go to the Dropbox website, unlink the device, and choose the "delete files" option. This enables any team member to take action quickly without having to reach an admin when a device is lost or stolen.
As an admin, you can also remote wipe the Dropbox folder on all devices linked to a user's account when you remove the user from the team. That way, if an employee leaves the organization or loses a device, you can be assured that your organization’s data is safe.
A computer must be running version 2.6.0 or later of the Dropbox desktop application for this feature to work. Remote wipe will automatically happen for any version of the Dropbox mobile app.
Both admins and users can track the status of remote wipe on non-mobile devices. Admins will see this information in the admin console, while users will see it on their account security page. The status section will say whether the attempted deletion has occurred and whether the entire contents of the Dropbox folder were deleted.
Note that there may be conditions under which Dropbox will be unable to delete files. For example, if there have been permissions set on a file by a specific program, they may prevent Dropbox from having write access to a file. If a remote wipe was not completely successful, admins and users can download a list of files that couldn’t be deleted.
With account transfer, you'll be able to transfer Dropbox files from a user leaving your team to another team member’s Dropbox with a single action. So if an employee chooses to leave your organization, you can keep critical company data and prevent interruptions to your team's workflow.
All of the files and folders that are in the former member's work Dropbox at the time you initiate the transfer will go to the recipient's Dropbox. Additionally, rather than just moving files the former team member owned, Dropbox will look to preserve their sharing relationships. For example, if the former team member owned a shared folder, Dropbox will transfer ownership of the folder to the recipient.
You'll be able to transfer the files when you remove the member or any time after that while you have the Dropbox for Business subscription. If you choose to do it later, the transfer will consist of the files and folders that are in the account when you initiate the transfer, as opposed to when you removed the member. (Items in shared folders, for example, may change or become unavailable over time.) You'll be able to do a transfer once for each removed member.