By default, Dropbox saves deleted and previous versions of files for 30 days in case you want to recover them. After the 30-day mark, the deleted files are marked for deletion in our system and are purged from our servers. They can no longer be recovered after that point.
There are a couple of exceptions to the 30-day rule:
- If you have a Dropbox Plus subscription and have purchased the extended version history add-on, deleted files are retained for up to one year after any edit or deletion made after you purchased this add-on.
- If you have a Dropbox Business plan (Standard, Advanced, Enterprise, or Education), you have 120 days to recover files. Your deleted files are retained for 120 days for as long you have the subscription. To purge deleted files from our servers, you can use the permanent delete feature (see below).
Permanently deleting files
You can permanently delete files to purge them from our servers as soon as possible.
Dropbox Business users: The ability to permanently delete files may be limited to your team’s admin.
Deleting your account
If you delete your Dropbox account, your files and account information will be purged from our servers after 30 days.