A few things happen when you delete your Dropbox account:
- Any computers or mobile devices that have been linked with Dropbox stop syncing
- You can no longer access your account on dropbox.com
- You can no longer edit files in shared folders
- The files in the Dropbox folder on your hard drive remain available
- The files in folders that you've shared with others remain available
If you'd like to proceed with deleting your Dropbox account, continue reading.
Dropbox Basic (free) and Plus users
Deleting a Dropbox Basic (free) account will begin the process of permanently deleting all its files. This process takes from 30 to 60 days in the normal course of operations.
If you cancel a Dropbox Plus subscription, then your account will first be downgraded to Dropbox Basic. If you choose to do so, you can then permanently delete your account. This process takes from 30 to 60 days in the normal course of operations.
Dropbox Business team admins
If you cancel a Dropbox Business subscription, then all team members will be downgraded to Dropbox Basic accounts. However, these accounts will still be connected through a free team. Team members can choose to leave the team at any time.
To permanently delete a team—along with all its member account data and file data—follow these steps:
- Delete all members from your team.
- Cancel your Dropbox Business subscription.
- Delete your own account.
Full account deletion takes from 30 to 60 days in the normal course of operations.
Dropbox Business team members
Dropbox Business team members cannot delete accounts or cancel subscriptions. If you're a team member, and you'd like to delete your account, contact your team admin.
Dropbox Business team admins can remove team members using the Delete User function. By using this function, the data and files associated with an account are retained until either of the following happens:
- The admin transfers or permanently deletes the account
- The admin cancels the entire Dropbox Business subscription
Deletion of data would then take from 30 to 60 days in the normal course of operations.
- Note: Files located in a deleted user's shared folders are still available to other members of the shared folder. These files can be accessed, edited, deleted, or permanently deleted by remaining shared folder members, depending on the permissions set by the team admin.
- Note: Copies of your file data are still available within your organization after account deletion. Check with your team admin if you have questions about your organization's data retention polices, backup processes, or other obligations