這家非營利組織的律師群,利用 Dropbox Business 與世界各地的外部律師安全協作案件,協助受迫害的難民贏得難民安置官司。

IRAP 的重要成效

接案能力提升,可處理十倍案量

美國與中東即時協作

委託人檔案安全更有保障

面臨挑戰

為資料尋找更安全的歸屬

國際難民援助計畫發現,要協助難民逃離激進組織迫害、安全移居他國,需要來自世界各地的人齊心合作。這個在紐約、貝魯特、安曼都設有據點的非營利組織,與數千名公益律師及法律系學生合作,協助陷入複雜法律案件,卻苦無管道取得律師協助的難民。收集必要的證據,幫難民打贏安置官司,絕不是件容易的事。但 IRAP 還面臨了其他挑戰:讓無法面對面開會的法律專業人士有效協作。隨著 IRAP 從原本的耶魯法學院小型學生社團,擴張到協助在 15 國安置難民的國際性組織,以電子郵件查找所有委託人資料和案件文書,對團隊成員來說幾乎成了不可能的任務。副法務總監 Lara Finkbeiner 指出:「過去我們花費很多時間,在信箱中翻找案件檔案,而且常要在電子郵件串裡重複附加資料附件。」Finkbeiner 說,更令人擔心的是,委託人來自戰亂地區,只能隨身攜帶案件文書的紙本,讓自己暴露在被有心人士發現的風險之中。她說:「我們把服務對象從伊拉克難民擴大到世界各地難民的同時,需要安全的解決方案來輔助組織擴張。」

解決方法

打造虛擬法律事務所

在 Dropbox Business 的加持下,IRAP 的 27 名內部員工現在可以透過網路順暢無礙地協作,表現絲毫不遜大型事務所。IRAP 紐約大學法學院分部成員 Zara D. 表示:「收到紐約分享的共享資料夾之後,我會為客戶收集證據。客戶本人則可能在中非共和國、在約旦,或是其他任何地方。我們人在貝魯特的律師,可以立即看到我添加至案件資料夾的新證據。」團隊成員會使用留言功能,把文件從阿拉伯文翻譯成英文,確保案件所需資訊全程集中存放在一個地方。Finkbeiner 說:「我們會在檔案預覽畫面的邊緣,直接完成基本的翻譯,不需另開一份翻譯版的文件。」就算在中東部分網路連線不穩的地區,IRAP 在 Dropbox Business 的協助下,也能隨時取得重要資訊。另一方面,委託人不需再隨身攜帶敏感文件,可以直接把文件拍起來,傳給案件負責團隊,讓他們把所有證據集中存放到安全的 Dropbox。Finkbeiner 說:「把委託人的資訊存在 Dropbox Business,我們很放心,因為我們可以控制誰擁有存取權、可以存取多久。」這個解決方案也讓貝魯特和安曼的員工,在進行委託人家訪、沒有網路連線時,也能繼續工作。Finkbeiner 說:「即便沒有網路,我們也可以先把證據新增到正確的資料夾。回到辦公室後,Dropbox 的同步速度比我們用過的其他平台都快很多。」回到紐約總部,Dropbox Business 讓 IRAP 能更輕鬆管理財務和人資作業。發展總監 Kelly Blundin 說:「集中存放所有資料,對我們執行每日業務很有幫助。隨著案件來來去去,我們新增和解除的合作夥伴數量非常龐大。Dropbox Business 讓事情變得簡單很多,因為我們可以取消共享資料夾或直接移除對方的帳戶。」

成果

解決全球性問題

IRAP 已協助超過 3,100 個難民家庭逃離危險,定居他國。這些家庭大多是因為少數族群的身分或與美軍有來往而遭到鎖定。Finkbeiner 表示,Dropbox Business 讓世界各地的律師能快速有效率地協作,處理這些刻不容緩的安置案件。她舉了一個伊拉克口譯員的例子。這名口譯員為美軍工作,卻因此收到死亡威脅。後來他便偕妻子與年幼的女兒逃亡至約旦。在年利達律師事務所律師團隊、約旦當地律師,以及 IRAP 紐約辦公室的協助下,這名委託人最後成功獲得安置,與家人定居美國。Finkbeiner 說:「我們都沒有實際見過面。我很榮幸能負責監督表現如此優異的律師團隊,沒有 Dropbox 我們一定做不來。」這項解決方案讓 IRAP 自由擴張參與人數,進而協助更多的人。現在我們已經能同時處理 500 到 600 件案子,跟一開始的 50 到 60 件相比,已有長足的進步。」創辦人 Becca Heller 如此表示。「難民本質上就是一個牽動全球的危機,這表示處理方式也需要全球的參與。」

最適合貴公司的檔案分享和儲存平台

或是立即購買

{"en":"This page is not currently available in your language.","id":"Halaman ini sekarang belum tersedia dalam bahasa Anda.","ms":"Laman ini kini belum boleh didapati dalam bahasa anda.","es_ES":"Esta página no está disponible en tu idioma en este momento.","da_DK":"Denne side er i øjeblikket ikke tilgængelig på dit sprog.","fr":"Cette page n'est actuellement pas disponible dans votre langue.","de":"Diese Seite ist zurzeit nicht in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.","en_GB":"This page is not currently available in your language.","pl":"Ta strona aktualnie nie jest dostępna w Twoim języku.","it":"Al momento questa pagina non è disponibile nella tua lingua.","nl_NL":"Deze pagina is momenteel niet beschikbaar in je taal.","nb_NO":"Denne siden er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig på språket ditt.","ru":"На данный момент эта страница недоступна на вашем языке.","zh_TW":"此頁面目前沒有您語言的版本。","sv_SE":"Denna sida är för närvarande inte tillgänglig på ditt språk.","th_TH":"หน้านี้ยังไม่มีให้บริการในภาษาของคุณในขณะนี้","zh_CN":"本页面暂无您所需的语言版本。","ja":"申し訳ありませんが、このページは選択した言語ではご利用になれません。","pt_BR":"Esta página não está disponível no momento em seu idioma.","ko":"현재 이 페이지는 한국어 번역이 제공되지 않습니다.","es":"Esta página aún no está disponible en tu idioma.","uk_UA":"На даний момент ця сторінка недоступна на вашій мові.","en_AU":"This page is not currently available in your language."}

The non-profit’s lawyers use Dropbox Business to securely collaborate on casework with other attorneys around the world, helping win resettlement decisions for refugees facing persecution.

IRAP's Key Results

Ability to take on 10X more cases

Real-time collaboration across the US and Middle East

Higher security for client files

The Challenge

Seeking a safer haven for data

As the International Refugee Assistance Project has found, it takes a virtual village to help refugees fleeing persecution from extremist groups to safely resettle. The non-profit’s teams in New York, Beirut, and Amman work with thousands of pro-bono attorneys and law students to help refugees who otherwise have no representation in complex cases. Gathering the necessary evidence to help a refugee win a resettlement case is no easy feat. But also challenging for IRAP was effectively collaborating with all these legal professionals, who rarely end up meeting in person. It became nearly impossible for the team to review all client intake information and case documents over email, as the organization grew from a small Yale Law School student group to an international operation resettling refugees in 15 different countries. “We were spending time digging through inboxes to find case files and constantly re-attaching materials to an email thread,” says Deputy Legal Director Lara Finkbeiner. More worrisome, clients in conflict-torn regions had no choice but to carry hard copies of their case documentation, putting them at great risk if discovered by the wrong parties, says Finkbeiner. “As we’ve expanded from assisting Iraqi refugees to those around the world, we needed a secure solution that would help us scale,” she says.

“With Dropbox Business, we’re able to provide the best legal advice to our clients because we have instant access from anywhere to all the information needed to put together the most compelling case possible.”

The Solution

Enabling a virtual law firm

With Dropbox Business, IRAP’s in-house staff of 27 is now able to function like a large law firm through seamless connections with its network. “After receiving my shared folder from New York, I’ll gather evidence from my client who is anywhere from Central African Republic to Jordan,” says Zara D., a member of the IRAP chapter at NYU Law School. “Our Beirut attorneys can immediately see new evidence was added to the case folder.” Staff members use the commenting feature when translating documents into English from Arabic, ensuring all the information required to move the case forward is in one place. “We’ll do a basic translation on the margin of a file preview, instead of having two separate versions,” says Finkbeiner. Even in parts of the Middle East where connections are spotty, IRAP’s teams stay connected thanks to Dropbox Business. Instead of carrying sensitive documents, clients can now take pictures of them for the case team to house all the evidence securely in Dropbox. “We feel very comfortable putting our clients’ information on Dropbox Business, because we can control who has access, and for how long,” Finkbeiner says. The solution also allows staff in Beirut and Amman to continue working when they’re making home visits to clients who don’t have Internet. “We can add evidence to the right folder without being online,” says Finkbeiner. “Once we get back to the office, Dropbox’s sync speed is far faster than any other platform we’ve tried.” Back at headquarters in New York, Dropbox Business has made it easier for IRAP to manage its financial and HR operations. “Keeping everything in one place helps us run our day-to-day operations,” says Kelly Blundin, Director of Development. “We onboard and offboard so many partners as cases change, and that’s much easier with Dropbox Business because we can just unshare a folder or remove an account.”

“With our network of over 3,000 lawyers and law students, we need to be organized and flexible. And Dropbox lets us do that.”

The Results

Solving a global problem

IRAP has helped more than 3,100 refugee families -- who often are targeted as for being minorities or affiliated with the US military -- escape danger and resettle. Dropbox Business has made it possible for lawyers around the world to collaborate quickly and effectively on these critical resettlement cases, Finkbeiner says. She cites the case of an Iraqi interpreter for the US Army who received death threats because of his work before escaping to Jordan with his wife and young daughter as one example. With the help lawyers at Linklaters, attorneys in Jordan, and IRAP‘s New York office, the client resettled to the US with his family. “None of us ever worked together in person,” says Finkbeiner. “It was some incredible lawyering that I had the privilege of overseeing, and that wouldn’t have been possible without Dropbox.” The solution is also helping IRAP scale its efforts to help more people. "We're able to take on 500 or 600 cases instead of the 50 or 60 when we first started," Becca Heller, Founder, says. "The refugee crisis is global in nature, and that means the response needs to be global as well."