這家位於舊金山的建築公司在 Dropbox Business 上完成整個設計流程,藉此輕鬆與包商協作,讓小小團隊發揮大大功效。

建築公司 Red Dot Studio

Red Dot Studio 的重要成效

內部及包商協作更有效率

騰出更多時間專心完成設計

公司成長更快速

面臨挑戰

擺脫笨重的解決方案

為了在舊金山火熱的房地產市場中脫穎而出,Red Dot Studio 必須設計出善用每一吋珍貴空間的優雅住家。這家只有六名員工的建築公司,發現需要有效運用的,不只有廚房空間而已。他們的團隊必須簡化資訊共享機制,才能有效發揮小型企業產能,成功打入市場。Red Dot Studio 剛成立時,僱用了一家 IT 顧問公司幫忙設置內部伺服器,希望能藉此減輕管理資料的負擔。但結果卻是恰恰相反。建案設計師、同時也是公司第二名員工 Alix Daguin 表示:「伺服器太龐大笨拙、速度慢、又過度複雜,而且每次故障都需要請人來修理。」公司團隊某次為客戶簡報時,捨棄了笨拙的伺服器,改用 Daguin 的 Dropbox 個人帳戶分享 PDF、Photoshop、InDesign 和 CAD 檔。她說:「結束之後,大家都覺得受夠伺服器了,於是決定註冊 Dropbox Business。」

解決方法

辦公室內外皆可協作

現在,Red Dot Studio 的設計師不僅會使用 Dropbox Business 彼此協作,更會藉此和外部工程師、顧問及客戶交流資訊。公司團隊為每個建案個別建立共享資料夾,協作設計圖規格計算文件、執照、示意圖設計稿等檔案的同時,還能追蹤修訂內容。Daguin 說:「在井然有序的資料夾架構中協作,真的比電子郵件方便太多。用電子郵件很容易找不到檔案。我們的包商都知道 Dropbox 怎麼用,所以他們會直接到共享資料夾找需要的資訊,快速完成工作,省下很多來回傳送檔案的時間。」需要為客戶簡報或與工程師協調時,Red Dot Studio 會透過 Dropbox 分享連結,輕鬆將大型簡報檔和 CAD 檔送到對方手上。Dropbox Business 讓 Red Dot Studio 團隊的成員不管在哪裡,都能輕鬆存取檔案。如果有人需要最新版的概念圖,可以直接透過 Dropbox 行動應用程式取得檔案。Daguin 說:「以前我們拜訪完工地現場後,會浪費很多時間尋找、掃描然後儲存草圖。現在我們只要用手機拍照,再把照片儲存到正確的長期儲存位置,就能當場完成資料傳輸。工作流程也因此更流暢了。」

成果

壓低人員數量與開銷

由於這項解決方案讓員工十分放心,現在 Red Dot Studio 已經把公司的檔案全數移入 Dropbox Business。他們尤其喜愛無限版本紀錄功能;他們可以利用這項功能,把文件還原成以前的版本,並輕鬆找回誤刪的檔案。Daguin 說:「就算發生洪水火災,都有 Dropbox 作我們的靠山。」對 Red Dot Studio 來說,Dropbox Business 出現的時機恰到好處。Daguin 說:「當時公司員工從一名增加到六名,正是引進 Dropbox 的彈性與易於使用特性的好機會。這讓我們可以把精力集中在公司的主要業務與競爭優勢上,也就是優秀的設計能力、良好的客戶關係,以及超棒的員工。」

最適合貴公司的檔案分享和儲存平台

或是立即購買

The San Francisco-based architecture firm runs its entire design process on Dropbox Business, enabling it to work more effortlessly with contractors and extend the capacity of its small team.

Red Dot Studio, an architecture firm

Red Dot Studio's Key Results

Stronger collaboration internally and with contractors

Increased time to focus on design work

Faster company growth

The challenge

Getting around clunky solutions

To thrive in San Francisco’s red-hot real estate market, Red Dot Studio must design elegant residences that maximize every precious square foot. With an in-house staff of just six, the architecture firm realized that kitchen layouts weren’t the only things that needed to stay efficient. The team had to simplify the way it shared information to succeed as a small company. In the company’s early days, Red Dot Studio hired an IT consulting firm to set up an on-premise server, hoping that would offload the burden of managing data. But the result was just the opposite. “The server was bulky, slow, and convoluted, and we’d need to call someone else to help us with the glitches,” says Alix Daguin, Project Designer and the company’s second employee. For one client presentation, the team got around the clunky server by sharing PDF, Photoshop, InDesign, and CAD files using Daguin’s personal Dropbox account. “The day after, it was clear that enough was enough, and we signed up for Dropbox Business,” she says.

The solution

Collaborating in and out of the office

Today, Red Dot Studio designers use Dropbox Business to collaborate not only with each other, but also with outside engineers, consultants, and clients. By setting up shared folders for each project, the team can work together and track revisions on assets like plan calculations, permits, and schematic designs. “Working through an organized folder structure is so much easier than email, where things get lost,” Daguin says. “Our contractors are familiar with Dropbox, so they’ll grab what they need from our shared folders to get their work done, which saves us a ton of back and forth.” When presenting to clients or coordinating with engineers, Red Dot Studio uses Dropbox shared links to easily send over large presentation and CAD files. Dropbox Business enables members of the Red Dot Studio team to always access their work no matter where they are. When someone needs the latest concepts, they quickly pull them up from the Dropbox mobile app. “After visiting a job site, we used to waste time searching for a sketch, scanning it, and then saving it.” “Now we can snap a picture on our phones, save it to the correct long-term location, and disseminate it on the spot. It’s much more seamless now."

The results

Keeping staff and overhead lean

Red Dot Studio has moved all of the company’s files onto Dropbox Business, citing the peace of mind employees get from the solution. They especially like the unlimited version history feature, which allows them to revert to previous versions of documents and easily recover accidentally deleted files. “Even if there’s a flood or fire, I know Dropbox has our back,” says Daguin. For Red Dot Studio, Dropbox Business came at the perfect time. “When growing from one to six employees, it made sense to leverage the flexibility and ease of use of Dropbox,” Daguin says. “We can focus our energy on our core competencies and competitive advantage: great design work, client relations, and employees.”

The best sharing and storage solution for your business