1. Sharing files and folders
  2. Payments and billing
  3. Security and privacy
  4. Dropbox Business
  5. Syncing and uploads
  6. Sign-in help
  7. Desktop app and dropbox.com
  8. Manage account
  9. Space and storage
  10. Photos and videos
  11. Mobile
  12. Dropbox Paper

Recover deleted files

Table of contents

Undo a deletion event

  1. Sign in to the Dropbox website.
  2. Click Files in the left sidebar.
  3. Click Deleted files in the left sidebar.
  4. Locate the deleted file or folder you want to recover, and click on the name.
  5. Click Restore.

Note: Restorations can take time if there's a large number of files to restore.

Recover select files or folders

You can recover any file or folder deleted in the last 30 days from the Dropbox website (or longer, if you have a Dropbox Business account, or a Dropbox Plus account with Extended Version History).

  1. Sign in to the Dropbox website.
  2. Click Files in the left sidebar.
  3. Click Deleted files in the left sidebar.
  4. All deleted files and folders will appear in the list in gray. Select the deleted file or folder you want to recover by clicking the empty space to the right of its name.

    • Hint: You can select multiple files or folders at once by pressing the shift (PC) or command (Mac) key as you click
  5. Click the Restore button.

Did you delete a shared folder? You can add it back to your Dropbox.

Keeping a year of data with Extended Version History

If recovering files becomes a recurring issue, you can upgrade your account to include the Extended Version History feature, which allows you to revert to a previous file version or recover a deleted file at any time within a year of an edit or deletion made after your purchase. Learn more about Extended Version History.

Note: Permanently deleted files are not recoverable with Extended Version History. Learn more about deleting files.

I deleted a shared folder—will that affect other members of it?

Deleting a shared folder in Dropbox only affects your account. When you delete a shared folder, you leave it. Leaving a shared folder by deleting it takes that folder out of your account, but others will keep their access. You can add the folder back to your Dropbox at any time. However, deleting individual files from a shared folder will remove them for all members of the shared folder.