To delete files or folders on dropbox.com:
To delete files or folders on the desktop app:
To remove a file from your Dropbox, drag-and-drop it somewhere out of your Dropbox folder. To delete the file, drag the file or folder to your Recycle Bin or Trash.
Permanently deleting a file means that you can't recover it. Only the owner of a shared folder, or the person who originally uploaded a file that nobody else has edited, can permanently delete a file. Any files that appear in gray were previously deleted and can still be either recovered or permanently deleted.
To permanently delete files using the file browser on dropbox.com:
To permanently delete files using the deleted files page on dropbox.com:
To permanently delete a shared folder, use the same steps as permanently deleting files or folders.
If you own the folder, permanently deleting it removes the shared folder from the Dropbox accounts of all members of the folder and their access is permanently removed. If you want to leave members with a copy of the folder, unshare it instead.
If you don’t own the folder, it is removed from your Dropbox account and you can’t access it. All other members of the folder still have access.
Note: If you’re a member of a Dropbox Business team, you can’t permanently delete team content that others have edited. Only Dropbox Business admins can permanently delete team content.
Notes about permanently deleting files
Deleted and permanently deleted files don't count against your storage quota. Permanently deleting files after they have already been deleted doesn't free any more space in your Dropbox.
For Dropbox Basic (free) and Plus users, deleted files are permanently deleted after 30 days. If you have a Dropbox Professional or Business account, files are permanently deleted after 120 days.
If you move a file, then permanently delete it, the version of that file from its previous location will appear in the deleted files page. You can then permanently delete this version.
The Dropbox desktop application keeps a cache in your Dropbox folder for files and folders you move and delete. The cache is cleared automatically every three days. If you need to delete sensitive files immediately or need to clear up the space, you can manually clear your cache. When permanently deleting a shared folder you own, other members may still be able to access the content through their cache until it is cleared.