專門製造吸污泥泵浦的 GIW Minerals 公司透過 Dropbox Business 讓員工得以遠端執行業務和協作,加快工作流程,提供全球客戶更好的服務。

GIW Minerals 的重要成效

易於上手,推行容易

檔案共享問題相關的 IT 回報單,數量減少 80%

加強控制公司機密資訊

面臨挑戰

尋找促進資訊流通的方式

KSB 集團的 GIW Industries 在 1891 年成立,當初不過是家小型的機械工廠,打著 GIW Minerals 的品牌為全球客戶設計並製造泥漿泵。漸漸地,位於喬治亞州 Grovetown 的 GIW 規模擴增,管理階層體認到公司需要新方法,確保工作程序順暢進行,必須像在 20 噸的泥漿泵中的物質一樣流動通暢。 當初員工僅能透過電子郵件和 FTP 彼此聯繫,不僅內部協作難以進行,也很難將包含產品規格的大型檔案傳送給客戶。在偏遠的挖泥廠工作的員工常常無法存取伺服器,沒辦法備份電腦上的資料,也無法下載最新的業務素材。伺服器營運主管 Lucas McCuistian 說:「我們的人員遍布世界各地,上線的時間也都不同,實在很難有效地備份所有人的檔案。」。有一天,一名來自 GIW 硬體供應商 Dell (Dropbox Business 的策略夥伴) 的業務人員向 GIW 推薦 Dropbox,他說 Dropbox 可以提供公司亟需的檔案儲存和集中管理的檔案分享機制,GIW 遂決定試試 Dropbox。

解決方法

促進團隊協作

McCuistian 表示,KSB 公司採用 Dropbox Business 後,銷售人員得以將時間花在提供服務給潛在客戶,而非忙著翻找他們需要的資料。他說:「以往總要抱著一大本裝得滿滿的紙本資料夾或電腦去開會,現在我們的業務只要帶著手機或平板電腦,就可以隨時叫出檔案。」產品和設計團隊使用共享資料夾一同編輯 AutoCAD 和其他巨型檔案。這些檔案以往總會塞爆電子郵件伺服器。將檔案集中在同一個位置後,團隊就不會每個檔案都有好幾個版本了。 Dropbox Business 還帶來另一個好處:在工地的員工終於可以保持同步了!就算頻寬受限,他們還是能將現場相片和影片回傳給總部。產品經理 Scott Gillum 說:「我們排除問題的速度越來越快了。」「我的部門裡有個員工住在印尼很偏僻的鄉下,時間比我們早 16 小時。但他可以輕鬆將所有資料上傳至 Dropbox 讓我們存取,跟他人在這裡沒什麼兩樣。」IT 人員可以透過管理員主控台,輕鬆處理離職員工和承包商的退出事宜,還能遠端清除他們裝置上的公司檔案,確保公司機密不外洩。Gillum 表示:「員工二話不說就開始使用 Dropbox,可見得 Dropbox 是多麼便利和易於操作。」

成果

為 IT 人員和員工省下大把時間

McCuistian 表示,Dropbox Business 大幅減輕了員工的負擔。現在員工都倚靠 Dropbox 與內外部人員分享大型檔案,公司得以將寄給外部人員的電子郵件附檔從 50 MB 降至 10 MB。IT 人員因而能將時間專注于策略性專案。McCuistian 說:「員工要求我們克服電子郵件容量限制或協助他們分享檔案的狀況銳減。比例下降了 80% 到 90%。」 銷售和行銷副總監 Charlie Stone 表示:「 Dropbox 協助我們跟上全球採礦產業的腳步。我們不需要全天候派人駐守辦公室,Dropbox 讓位於地球另一端的夥伴可以輕鬆取得所需資料。」

最適合貴公司的檔案分享和儲存平台

或是立即購買

{"en":"This page is not currently available in your language.","id":"Halaman ini sekarang belum tersedia dalam bahasa Anda.","ms":"Laman ini kini belum boleh didapati dalam bahasa anda.","es_ES":"Esta página no está disponible en tu idioma en este momento.","da_DK":"Denne side er i øjeblikket ikke tilgængelig på dit sprog.","fr":"Cette page n'est actuellement pas disponible dans votre langue.","de":"Diese Seite ist zurzeit nicht in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.","en_GB":"This page is not currently available in your language.","pl":"Ta strona aktualnie nie jest dostępna w Twoim języku.","it":"Al momento questa pagina non è disponibile nella tua lingua.","nl_NL":"Deze pagina is momenteel niet beschikbaar in je taal.","nb_NO":"Denne siden er for øyeblikket ikke tilgjengelig på språket ditt.","ru":"На данный момент эта страница недоступна на вашем языке.","zh_TW":"此頁面目前沒有您語言的版本。","sv_SE":"Denna sida är för närvarande inte tillgänglig på ditt språk.","th_TH":"หน้านี้ยังไม่มีให้บริการในภาษาของคุณในขณะนี้","zh_CN":"本页面暂无您所需的语言版本。","ja":"申し訳ありませんが、このページは選択した言語ではご利用になれません。","pt_BR":"Esta página não está disponível no momento em seu idioma.","ko":"현재 이 페이지는 한국어 번역이 제공되지 않습니다.","es":"Esta página aún no está disponible en tu idioma.","uk_UA":"На даний момент ця сторінка недоступна на вашій мові.","en_AU":"This page is not currently available in your language."}

The slurry pump manufacturer relies on Dropbox Business to facilitate mobility and collaboration, leading to faster workflows for employees and better service for global customers.

GIW Minerals' Key Results

Ease of use drives rapid adoption

80% drop in IT tickets related to file sharing

Greater control over sensitive company data

The Challenge

Seeking a better flow of information

Founded in 1891 as a small machine shop, KSB’s GIW Industries designs and manufactures slurry pumps that are sold to customers around the globe under the GIW Minerals brand. As the Grovetown, Georgia company has grown, management realized it needed a way to keep the work process flowing as fluidly as the material that moves through its 20-ton pumps. Dependent on email and FTP sites, employees often struggled with collaborating internally and sending large files containing product specs to customers. Staff members stationed in remote areas where mining occurs sometimes had trouble accessing servers to back up their laptops and download the latest sales materials. “They are anywhere on the planet at any given time, and it makes it hard to back them up efficiently,” says Lucas McCuistian, Supervisor of Server Operations. After a rep from GIW’s hardware supplier Dell — a Dropbox Business strategic partner — suggested the service would meet its needs for storage and centralized file sharing, the company decided to give it a try.

“We’ve seen a massive decrease in requests dealing with email quota sizes or files that need to be shared. They’ve dropped 80% to 90%.”

The Solution

Pumping up collaboration

Now that the KSB company has moved to Dropbox Business, sales reps can spend more time providing service to prospects and less time trying to dig up the information they need, McCuistian says. “Instead of carrying a big folder full of paper or a laptop to a meeting, it allows our sales folks to bring up their data on their phones or tablets,” he says. Product and design teams are using shared folders to collaborate on the AutoCAD and other colossal files that used to choke the email server. Having one centralized location for files means teams no longer end up with four or five versions of the same document. Using Dropbox Business has another benefit: employees in the field can sync — even with low bandwidth connections — site images and videos back with headquarters. “It allows us to troubleshoot problems more quickly,” says Scott Gillum, Product Manager. “I’ve got a guy who is 16 hours ahead of me in Indonesia in a very, very remote location. He can very easily upload all the data that he’s getting and get it back to us just as if he were here.” The Admin Console helps the company keep sensitive information inside the company by making it easy for IT to offboard departing employees and contractors, and remotely wipe any company data off their devices. “To look around at employees and see how they have openly embraced a technology like Dropbox is a testament to how effective and easy to use it is,” Gillum says.

“It allows us to troubleshoot problems more quickly. I’ve got a guy who is 16 hours ahead of me in Indonesia in a very, very remote location. He can very easily upload all the data that he’s getting and get it back to us just as if he were here.”

The Results

Freeing up IT and employees

Dropbox Business is making work much easier for employees, says McCuistian. The company was able to reduce the maximum file sizes for external emails from 50 MB to 10 MB, as employees now use the service to share large files both internally and externally. The change has given IT more time to focus on strategic projects, he adds. “We’ve seen a massive decrease in requests dealing with email quota sizes or files that need to be shared,” McCuistian says. “They’ve dropped 80% to 90%.” Charlie Stone, VP of Sales and Marketing, says Dropbox is helping us keep pace with the speed of the global mining business. “We don’t have to man this office 24/7,” he says. “We use Dropbox to enable people on the other side of the world to get the information they need.”