歡迎來到 Dropbox GDPR 指引中心

為了協助組織在 2018 年 5 月 25 日前能符合歐盟通用資料保護規範 (GDPR),本指引中心提供了一些深入解析與實用秘訣。

當然,每個組織遵循 GDPR 的過程皆不太相同。這取決於公司規模、處理的資料類型和數量,以及當前的安全性和隱私措施等因素。

準備迎接 GDPR

凡是在歐盟境內設立且會處理到歐盟居民個人資料的組織,幾乎在所有情況下皆必須於 2018 年 5 月 25 日前完成 GDPR 遵循作業。GDPR 會更新歐盟處理個人資料的架構,並使之維持一致,讓組織增加新的義務,並替個人爭取新的權利。許多組織無論規模大小,目前都已為新的規範做好準備。 

Dropbox 累積了多年經驗,贏得了客戶的信任。Dropbox Business 通過多項國際廣為認可的安全性和隱私權標準與規範,例如 ISO 27001/2、ISO27018/17 與 SOC 2。為了協助您在 GDPR 方面的遵循作業,我們的資料保護專家組成了跨部門工作團隊,為您提供一系列的深入解析與資源。

什麼是 GDPR?

GDPR 是歐盟的一項法規,是為了處理與保護歐盟境內居民的個人資料而建立的新架構。已於 2018 年 5 月 25 日生效。 

個人資料在社會和經濟中扮演著重要的角色。人們必須能夠掌控並知曉與之互動的組織是如何使用和保護自己的資料,且人們要自知擁有這種權利,而組織也必須要有明確的準則可以依循。

GDPR 的其中一項目的,是為了讓歐洲的資料隱私權法跟上過去二十年來快速的科技變化,並且保持法律間的一致性。這套規範悉根據歐盟現有的法律架構,包括自 1995 年以來就存在的歐盟資料保護綱領。 

GDPR:基礎知識

Dropbox 已經符合 GDPR 的規定。由於 GDPR 已經生效,您也應著手評估您對 GDPR 規範的準備程度。

Dropbox 如何遵循 GDPR?

  • Dropbox 與全球數百萬使用者和公司間的關係都是建立于信賴之上。我們非常重視您對我們的信任,並竭力保護您的資料安全。
  • ​​Dropbox 極其重視資料保護,並且長期在規範遵循上保持領先紀錄。舉例來說,我們是第一個達到 ISO 27018 標準的雲端服務供應商,該標準經國際認可,是雲端隱私權與資料保護作法的領先標準。⏎​​
  • Dropbox 的法律、信任和隱私權團隊已經仔細分析了 GDPR,並採取必要步驟以確保我們遵循相關規範。
  • ​​我們已在 2018 年 5 月 25 日前達成 GDPR 的規定。
您在 GDPR 之下需負起什麼義務? ​​
  • 您必須了解,身為商業客戶與資料支配者,您在 GDPR 底下需負起特定的法律義務。
  • ​​您可以相信所合作的任何供應商 (資料處理商) 都擁有高度可靠的資料保護措施,也了解 GDPR 的責任,並且已經做好規範遵循的準備工作。
  • GDPR 並未要求個人資料應存放於歐盟境內。事實上,在 GDPR 的允許範圍中,得以使用多個公認的方式將個人資料移轉至非歐盟國家,包括標準合約條款和歐美隱私屏盾等架構。在 GDPR 底下,只要您或代表您移轉檔案的供應商具有其中一個必要的移轉機制,資料就可在非歐盟國家託管或處理。 ​​
  • Dropbox 的共同責任指南說明我們共同保護資料安全的方法,並釐清 Dropbox 與客戶各自的責任。

GDPR:關鍵變化

GDPR 帶來了思維模式的轉變。它明確導入多項過去資料保護法的原則基礎,例如「問責原則」和「隱私始於設計 (privacy by design)」,並鼓勵組織承擔更多責任,以保護他們經手的個人資料。

隱私始於設計:根據這項原則,組織在經手個人資料時,需在系統設計階段就將資料保護的概念納入考量,而不是在產品或製程開發完成後再檢查對隱私權的影響。如果您會處理大量資料或經手敏感資訊,在許多情況下,為了符合隱私始於設計的原則,也需要評估對資料保護的影響。

使用者權利:GDPR 拓展了現有的使用者權利,並創建了幾個全新的權利。公司應自我檢視並確保是否具備有效的系統以落實這些權利。

更嚴格的違規通知規則:在 GDPR 底下,組織必須具備強而有力的違規通知系統,並了解其具體的回報責任。

問責原則:您的公司不僅必須遵守 GDPR 中的原則,您也必須證明規範遵循符合問責原則。為符合要求,您的公司必須具備全面且明確的內部隱私管理架構。

資料保護長:根據 GDPR 的要求,凡經手歐盟使用者資料的公司,皆必須判斷是否指定一名資料保護長。經常處理大量資訊或敏感資訊的公司應該考慮任命資料保護長。

Dropbox 的邁向 GDPR 合規目標

如同許多客戶一樣,Dropbox 已積極為 GDPR 準備。

Dropbox 與全球數百萬使用者和公司間的關係都是建立於信賴上。我們在業務崗位上始終尊重隱私權與安全性。隨著 Dropbox 的成長,專注於處理和保護客戶交付給我們的個人資料,仍是我們的第一要務。

GDPR 符合我們的想法和作法。我們的資安作業已符合獲廣泛認可的標準及規範,我們是第一批達到 ISO 27018 的雲端供應商,該標準經國際認可,是雲端隱私與資料保護作法的領先標準。

我們的法律、信任和安全性工作團隊已經細讀了 GDPR,且採取必要措施,找出我們需遵守以及需改變作法的地方。我們已在 2018 年 5 月以前完成遵循作業,並致力協助客戶為義務履行做好準備。

在此閱讀更多關於「Dropbox 的邁向 GDPR 合規目標」的資訊。

服務條款、隱私權政策與企業協議更新

Dropbox 致力於成為值得您信賴的儲存空間服務。因此我們更新了服務條款、隱私權政策和企業協議。閱讀變更內容摘要。

我們致力保護您的個人資料

Dropbox 將資料保護視為內部工作,隨著我們的成長,處理和保護客戶交付給我們的個人資料,仍是我們的第一要務。

責任歸屬準則:改變想法

從設計和開發層面保護隱私 (privacy by design and privacy by default) 是責任歸屬準則的基礎,也是 GDPR 希望安全團隊改變想法的核心原因。

免責聲明:本網站旨在為客戶提供 GDPR 的相關實用指引,其內容並非全面性的解決方案或法律建議。每個組織都應自行採取措施來遵循法規。

Disclaimer: This site is intended to provide helpful guidance to customers on the GDPR and not as a comprehensive solution or legal advice. Each organization should undertake their own steps to ensure compliance.

Welcome to Dropbox's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Guidance Center

This guidance center offers some helpful insights and practical steps for organizations that must comply with the GDPR.

Every organization’s journey to GDPR compliance is different.  Organizations should consider several factors regarding GDPR adherence, including, company size, the types and amount of data it processes, and current security and privacy measures.

Complying with the GDPR

Organizations established in the EU and processing personal data of EU-based individuals will, in almost all cases, be required to comply with the GDPR.  The GDPR updates and harmonizes the framework for processing personal data in the European Union, and brings with it new obligations for organizations and new rights for individuals. 

Dropbox has many years experience earning our users’ trust. Dropbox Business is certified compliant with the most widely-accepted security and privacy standards and regulations in the world, such as ISO 27001/2, ISO27018/17 and SOC 2. Our cross-functional team of data protection specialists has put together a series of insights and resources to help you on your road to GDPR compliance.

What is the GDPR?

The GDPR is a European Union regulation that establishes a new framework for handling and protecting the personal data of EU-based residents. It came into effect on May 25, 2018. 

Personal data plays a huge part in society and the economy. It is essential that people have—and know they have—control and clarity over how their data is used and protected by any organization they interact with, and that organizations are given clear guidelines to protect their personal data.

One of the goals of the GDPR is to reconcile disparate data privacy laws across Europe, keeping in mind the rapid technological changes within the past two decades. It builds upon the current legal framework in the European Union, including the EU Data Protection Directive, which has been in existence since 1995. 

GDPR: The basics

Dropbox meets GDPR requirements across all of its services, including Dropbox Basic, Plus, Professional, and Business..

How does Dropbox comply with the GDPR?

  • Trust is the foundation of our relationship with millions of people and businesses around the world. We value the confidence you’ve put in us and take the responsibility of protecting your information seriously.
  • ​​Dropbox places the utmost importance on data protection and has a track record of staying ahead of the compliance curve - for example, we were one of the first cloud service providers to achieve ISO 27018 — the internationally recognised standard for leading practices in cloud privacy and data protection. ​​
  • Dropbox’s Legal, Trust and Privacy teams have carefully analyzed the GDPR and have undertaken the necessary steps to ensure that we comply.
  • ​​We met the requirements of the GDPR by 25 May 2018.
What are your obligations under the GDPR? ​​
  • If you are a business customer, please note that you are the data controller, and have specific legal obligations under the GDPR. If you are a Dropbox Basic, Plus, Professional user, Dropbox is the data processor, and you are the data controller. Please also note that there are specific legal obligations in that regard under GDPR. Whether your company is a data controller or a data processor, we cannot provide legal counsel regarding your company's compliance with GDPR, but do encourage you to seek independent legal counsel.
  • ​​If you are a business customer, you should be confident that any providers (data processors) which you work with have a highly robust approach to data protection, understand the obligations of the GDPR and are well prepared to meet them.
  • The GDPR does not impose a requirement for personal data to remain within the EU. In fact, the GDPR permits the transfer of personal data to non-EU countries in line with a number of recognized methods, including standard contractual clauses and frameworks such as the EU-US Privacy Shield. Under GDPR data can be hosted and processed in non-EU countries as long as you, or your providers who transfer data on your behalf, have one of the necessary transfer mechanisms in place. ​​
  • Dropbox’s shared responsibility guide sets out our approach to working together to keep your data secure and helps make clear Dropbox’s responsibilities and our customers’ responsibilities.

GDPR: Key changes

The GDPR brings with it a shift in mindset. It expressly introduces several principles that previously underpinned data protection law, such as the "accountability principle" and "privacy by design," and encourages organizations to take more responsibility for protecting the personal data they handle.

Privacy by design: This means that organizations handling personal data need to think about data protection when designing systems, not just review privacy implications after a product or process is developed.

User rights: The GDPR expands the existing set of user rights and creates several entirely new rights. Companies should review and ensure they have effective systems in place to give effect to these rights.

Tougher breach notification rules: Under the GDPR, organizations are required to have a strong breach notification system in place and understand their specific reporting obligations.

Accountability: Not only must your company adhere to the principles set out in the GDPR, but you must also demonstrate that compliance in line with the principle of accountability. This requires a comprehensive and clear internal privacy governance structure.

Data protection officer: The GDPR requires companies that engage in processing of EU user data to determine if they should appoint a Data Protection Officer. Companies that routinely process large volumes of information or particularly sensitive information should consider appointing a DPO.

Dropbox's GDPR compliance journey

Like many of our customers, at Dropbox we prepared for the GDPR.

At Dropbox, trust is the foundation of our relationship with millions of people and businesses around the world. Respect for privacy and security was built into our business from the beginning. As we've grown, our focus on handling and protecting the data our customers entrust to us has remained a top priority.

Our Legal, Trust and Security teams have carefully scrutinized the GDPR, and have taken the necessary steps to identify where we need to comply and where any changes need to be made. Dropbox takes GDPR very seriously, and we are committed to ensuring our compliance.

Read more about “Dropbox’s GDPR Compliance Journey” here.

Updates to our ToS, Privacy Policy, & Business Agreement

At Dropbox, we’re dedicated to being worthy of trust. That’s why we’ve updated our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, and Business Agreement. Read our summary of the changes.

We’re committed to protecting your personal data

We see data protection as integral to our work, and as we’ve grown, the way we handle and protect the data our customers entrust to us has remained a priority.

The accountability principle: A shift in mindset

The concepts of privacy by design and privacy by default underpin the accountability principle and are at the heart of the shift in mindset the GDPR aims to achieve.