VPN

如何将 VPN 设为文件共享解决方案?

您必须要谨慎配置并持续维护,才能享受 VPN 的便利与安全。我们建议大部分公司与 IT 专业人员合作,以对 VPN 进行设置和维护。

VPN

  • 与 IT 人员一起购买 VPN 服务器
  • 让 IT 人员为每个用户创建 VPN 帐户
  • 与 IT 人员一起购买文件服务器,搭配 VPN 使用
  • 在文件服务器上创建共享文件夹,并向相关用户提供权限
  • 在每个用户的电脑上安装 VPN 客户端并配置访问信息
  • 将网络驱动器映射到每个用户电脑上的共享文件夹

Dropbox

  • 注册 Dropbox
  • 下载 Dropbox 应用

除了配置 VPN 服务器之外,IT 人员还需要为每个用户创建帐户,为文件服务器上的共享文件夹添加相应的权限,监控运行情况,抵御恶意软件,以及教授新用户如何连接 VPN。

VPN 和 Dropbox 都可以用来共享文件(例如通过共享文件夹),但在 Dropbox 中设置这些文件夹要直观得多。您不需要掌握任何技术技巧,只需输入电子邮件地址即可添加用户帐户,而且新软件对您的团队来说也容易上手。


如何与团队成员共享文件?

使用 VPN 时,您的团队可以将共享文件视为硬盘上的本地文件。您可以就地编辑文件,无需像在使用 FTP 时那样手动在服务器上下载和上传。需要权衡的是,您与文件的所有互动都通过网络连接进行,这意味着其效果将取决于您的互联网连接以及 VPN 服务器处理传入请求的能力。

VPN

  • 打开 VPN 软件
  • 输入服务器地址和 VPN 帐户的用户名和密码
  • 等待 VPN 服务器验证您的凭据
  • 连接文件服务器
  • 将文件添加到之前创建的共享网络驱动器上
  • 文件会自动显示在团队成员的共享网络驱动器中
  • 如果有人编辑文件,团队其他成员都能自动获得更改内容的访问权限

Dropbox

  • 在 Dropbox 中创建新文件夹,与您的团队共享文档
  • 右键单击文件夹,然后与团队成员共享文件夹
  • 将所需文件放入电脑上的 Dropbox 共享文件夹中
  • 文件会显示在团队成员的 Dropbox 文件夹中
  • 每次有人编辑文件时,其他人的副本都会自动更新

表面上,Dropbox 和 VPN 在协助文件共享方面提供的体验似乎相同:文件可以直接编辑(无需下载),且更改内容会自动显示在团队的共享文件夹中。不过,Dropbox 会向每个用户提供每个文档的本地副本,因而用户浏览和编辑文件的速度明显更快。

此外,使用 VPN 时您只能在连接网络后与文件互动,而与此不同的是,通过 Dropbox 您可以将文件存储下来离线访问和编辑,Dropbox 会在您下次上网时上传您所做的任何更改。如果有多个用户在同时编辑同一个文件,Dropbox 还会创建冲突副本,而不是将其他用户锁定在只读模式下。


如何与客户共享文件?

通过 VPN 与客户共享文件可能会有困难,因为您不可能向员工以外的人员提供整个网络的访问权限而不施加任何限制。设置 Dropbox 或其他系统来与客户共享文件,不仅更容易操作,而且也更安全。

如果您坚持要使用 VPN,一种选择是使用安全套接字层 (SSL) VPN。这种标准不太常见,不过它允许您的系统管理员为您私有网络上的特定服务器或文件设置访问限制。

VPN

  • 在初期与 IT 人员合作,确保可以将您的服务器配置为 SSL VPN
  • 让 IT 人员为您的客户创建 SSL VPN 帐户,只允许他们访问需要的服务器和文件
  • 向客户提供 VPN 帐户信息
  • 客户可以使用任何网络浏览器登录您的 SSL VPN
  • 所有允许的资源(包括文件服务器、共享文件夹和文件)都会在网络界面中显示

Dropbox

  • 右键单击 Dropbox 文件夹中的文件
  • 选择共享 Dropbox 链接菜单项以生成可共享的链接
  • 将链接发送给您的客户。他们可以通过任何网络浏览器查看或下载文件

通过 Dropbox 中的可共享链接,您可以精确决定允许客户查看哪些文件。客户只需单击链接即可访问文件,无需与复杂的 VPN 软件互动。如果您使用的是 Dropbox ProDropbox Business,还可以选择为链接添加密码和到期日。此外,您随时可以停用链接以撤销其他用户对文档的访问权限。


如何共享大文件?

对 VPN 而言,大文件是个问题。每次您保存时,整个文件都会通过 VPN 连接发送到私有网络文件服务器,因此在处理大文件时的效率较低。

一个解决方案是将网络驱动器上的文件移到本地硬盘上修改,完成后再移回网络驱动器。但与 FTP 一样,这会产生低效的下载/上传工作流,使您难以与团队其他成员保持文件同步。

VPN

  • 使用 VPN 传输文件时没有文件大小限制
  • 由于 VPN 对互联网连接有依赖,因此处理大文件时可能不稳定
  • 每次有改动时都必须重新发送整个大文件

Dropbox

Dropbox 的内置版本控制支持会在幕后记录每次编辑。您只需点几下鼠标即可生成文档的完整历史记录,确保您不会意外删除信息。


如何管理文件的旧版本?

文件服务器只会为每个文件保存一份最新的副本。它不会考虑文件历史记录,而这可能会导致数据丢失风险。例如,如果一个用户删除了一些信息,然后重新将文档上传到服务器,之前的信息就会永远消失。

VPN

  • VPN 不支持文件版本控制
  • 常见的解决办法是复制文件,然后重命名以添加版本号

Dropbox

  • 右键单击 Dropbox 文件夹中的文件
  • 选择查看旧版本菜单项以列出文件的历史记录
  • 选择所需的版本并单击恢复

如果您的文件在 Dropbox 上,系统会记录每一次保存操作。如果您想起来刚刚删除了重要的数据,只需点几下鼠标即可将其恢复。与文件共享一样,此过程是完全自动的,您无需担心版本控制,除非您想要查看旧版文件副本。


如何在我的移动设备上访问文件?

大部分移动 VPN 客户端都只专注于建立加密连接。这对安全网络浏览、电子邮件传送和 VoIP 非常有效,但对文件共享效果不大。您通常需要使用其他应用来映射网络驱动器和访问公司的共享文件,甚至还需要请 IT 部门进行特殊的配置。

VPN

  • 使用集成的 VPN 支持或在移动设备上安装 VPN 应用
  • 输入 VPN 的服务器地址以及您的用户名和密码连接 VPN
  • 利用第三方应用映射网络驱动器,并像在桌面设备上那样访问文件
  • 需要有稳定的互联网连接才能编辑文档

Dropbox

  • 下载 Dropbox 移动应用
  • 登录帐户,直接在 Dropbox 移动应用中预览文档
  • 借助与 Dropbox 关联的移动应用(如 Microsoft Office),您所做的任何修改都会在所有设备之间同步

Dropbox 移动应用可让您免去建立 VPN 连接的麻烦。您只需在首次打开应用时登录 Dropbox 即可。然后,您的移动设备上就会生成一套完备的文件系统。您可以浏览文件,使用第三方应用编辑文件,以及像在桌面设备上的共享文件夹中那样创建可共享的链接。

移动 VPN 软件特别容易掉线(例如在穿越隧道时),这可能会导致您因为没有稳定的连接而无法在文件上工作(具体取决于 VPN 软件和编辑应用)。Dropbox 解决此类问题的办法是允许您下载文件供离线使用。

VPN

How do I set up VPN as a file share solution?

Getting the convenience and security of a VPN requires careful configuration and ongoing maintenance. We recommend that most companies work with an IT professional to set up and maintain a VPN.

Compare to Dropbox

VPN

  • Work with IT to purchase a VPN server
  • Have IT configure a VPN account for each user
  • Work with IT to purchase a file server for use with VPN
  • Create a shared folder on the file server and give permissions to the desired users
  • Install a VPN client on each user’s computer and configure access
  • Map a network drive to the shared folder on each user’s computer

Dropbox

  • Sign up for Dropbox
  • Download the Dropbox application

Aside from configuring the VPN servers, IT has to create an account for each user, add appropriate permissions to shared folders on file servers, monitor performance, prevent malware, and train new users on how to connect to the VPN.

While both VPN and Dropbox can be used to facilitate the sharing of files through, for example, a shared folder, setting up one of these folders is much more intuitive with Dropbox. It doesn’t require any technical skills, adding user accounts is as easy as entering an email address, and your team has minimal new software to learn.


How do I share a file with a team member?

VPN lets your team treat shared files just like local files on your hard drive. You can edit files in place and avoid having to manually upload to and download from your server, as you do with FTP. The trade-off is that all of your interaction with a file takes place over a network connection, meaning performance is dependent on your Internet connection and the ability of the VPN server to handle incoming requests.

Compare to Dropbox

VPN

  • Open your VPN software
  • Enter the server address and your VPN account’s username and password
  • Wait for the VPN server to authenticate your credentials
  • Connect to the file server
  • Add the file to the shared network drive created previously
  • The file will automatically appear in your team member’s shared network drives
  • Whenever anyone edits the file, changes will automatically be available to the rest of your team

Dropbox

  • Create a new folder inside your Dropbox for sharing documents with your team
  • Right-click the folder, and share the folder with team members
  • Place the desired file in the shared Dropbox folder on your computer
  • The file will appear in your team members’ Dropbox folders
  • Whenever anyone edits the file, everybody else’s copy will automatically update

On the surface, Dropbox and VPN seem to deliver similar experiences when used to facilitate file sharing: files can be edited directly (no downloading required) and changes automatically appear in your team’s shared folders. However, Dropbox gives each user their own local copy of every document, making browsing and editing files significantly easier.

Additionally, unlike with VPN, where you can only interact with files while connected to the network, with Dropbox you can store files for offline access and editing, and Dropbox will upload any changes once you’re back online. Dropbox will also create a conflicted copy if multiple users edit the same file simultaneously, rather than locking other users into read-only mode.


How do I share a file with a client?

Sharing files with clients via VPN can be difficult, as you don’t want to provide a non-employee access to your entire network without restriction. It’s both easier and safer to set up Dropbox or any other system in order to share files with a client.

If you insist on using VPN, one option is to use a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) VPN, a less common form of the standard that allows your system administrator to restrict access to specific servers or files on your private network.

Compare to Dropbox

VPN

  • Work with IT early on to make sure your server can be configured as an SSL VPN
  • Have IT create an SSL VPN account for your client that only has access to the needed servers and files
  • Give your client the VPN account information
  • Clients can log in to your SSL VPN using any web browser
  • All permitted resources, including file servers, shared folders, and files will be shown on the web interface

Dropbox

  • Right-click the file in your Dropbox folder
  • Select the Share Dropbox Link menu item to generate a shareable link
  • Send the link to your client. They can view or download the file with any web browser

Shareable links in Dropbox let you determine precisely which files your clients can see. Accessing them is as simple as clicking a link, bypassing the need to interact with complicated VPN software. You also have the option of adding passwords and expiration dates to links if you’re using Dropbox Pro or Dropbox Business. And you can revoke access to a document at any time by simply disabling the link.


How do I share large files?

Large files can be a problem for VPN. Each time you save, the entire file is sent through the VPN connection to the private network file server, which can be inefficient with large files.

One solution is to move the file from the network drive to a local hard drive to make changes, then move it back to the network drive when you’re done. The result is the same inefficient download/upload workflow as FTP, making it hard to keep files synchronized with the rest of your team.

Compare to Dropbox

VPN

  • There are no file size restrictions for transferring files with VPN
  • Working with large files can be unreliable due to VPN’s reliance on Internet connectivity
  • Large files have to be resent in their entirety each time a change is made

Dropbox

  • There are no file size restrictions when uploading via the Dropbox application
  • When syncing, only the altered portions of a file are sent to Dropbox

Dropbox’s built-in versioning support records every edit behind the scenes. You can pull up the complete history of a document with a few mouse clicks, ensuring that you won’t accidentally delete information.


How do I manage old versions of a file?

A file server only has a single, current copy of each file. It has no notion of a file’s history, which introduces the risk of losing data. For example, if one user deletes some information and re-uploads the document to the server, it’s gone forever.

Compare to Dropbox

VPN

  • VPN does not support file versioning
  • A common solution is to copy the file and rename it to include the version number

Dropbox

  • Right-click the file in your Dropbox folder
  • Select the View Previous Versions menu item to list the file’s history
  • Select the desired version and click Restore

When your files live on Dropbox, every single save is recorded. If you realize important data was deleted a while ago, you can get it back with a few clicks of the mouse. Like file sharing, this is completely automatic— you never need to think about version control until you want to look at an old copy of a file.


How do I access files on my mobile devices?

Most mobile VPN clients focus only on establishing an encrypted connection. This is useful for secure web browsing, emailing, and VoIP, but it doesn’t offer much when it comes to file sharing. It’s usually up to another application to map a network drive and access your company’s shared files, and some even require special configuration by your IT department.

Compare to Dropbox

VPN

  • Use the integrated VPN support or install a VPN app on your mobile device
  • Connect to the VPN by entering its server address, and your username and password
  • Map a network drive with a third-party application and access the file just like on your desktop computer
  • Editing documents requires a stable Internet connection

Dropbox

  • Download the Dropbox mobile application
  • Sign in to your account, and preview documents right inside the Dropbox mobile app
  • Using Dropbox-connected mobile apps like Microsoft Office, any changes you make are synced across all devices

The Dropbox mobile app avoids the hassles of establishing a VPN connection. All you have to do is sign in to Dropbox the first time you open the application. After that, you have a full-fledged file system on your mobile device. You can browse files, edit them with third-party apps, and create shareable links just like you would from the shared folder on your desktop computer.

Mobile VPN software is also particularly susceptible to dropped connections (e.g., when driving through a tunnel). Depending on the VPN software and the editing application, this can prevent you from working on files without a stable connection. Dropbox solves this problem by letting you download files for offline use.