電子郵件

使用電子郵件分享檔案

公司未提供內部檔案分享解決方案時,許多團隊都會透過電子郵件附件協作檔案。這個檔案分享方法非常容易上手,因為過程中需要的工具,只有團隊成員每天都在用的電子郵件。然而,要利用這種簡便的方法,卻得付出許多代價,必須面對檔案同步、安全考量、或無法傳送大型文件等問題。

背景

簡易郵件傳送通訊協定 (SMTP) 是電子郵件傳輸的核心技術,其設計只是要讓使用者互傳純文字訊息。由於這個設計上的限制,對電子郵件的發展造成莫大的影響。

MIME

為打破電子郵件的純文字格式限制,後來又建立了多用途網際網路郵件延伸標準 (MIME)。MIME 增加支援非文字檔案附件,以及多部分電子郵件訊息。這兩項功能對檔案分享而言都十分重要。

MIME 會將檔案附件編碼成文字區塊。編碼只會將檔案轉換成 SMTP 可處理的格式,而不會將您的資料加密。另外,為了方便電子郵件軟體處理,MIME 訊息也會包含檔案類型資訊。多部分訊息則可以讓您在同一電子郵件中,同時放入文字訊息及檔案。

MIME 和 SMTP 兩者有互補性質。前者定義了電子郵件的內容,後者則決定電子郵件如何傳送到收件人手中。您可以把 MIME 內容想成「信件」,而 SMTP 就是用來裝信的「信封」。

Email

Using email to share files

In companies that don’t have a formal file sharing solution in place, many teams end up collaborating by emailing attachments to each other. This is a simple way to share files, as the only technology it requires is likely one they already use on a daily basis. However, this simplicity comes at the price of file synchronization, security, and lack of support for large documents.

Background

Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP), one of the central technologies used in email delivery, was only designed to send plaintext messages between users. The limitations of this design have had far-reaching consequences for the development of email.

MIME

To resolve the limitations of a plaintext email format, the Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions (MIME) standard was created. MIME adds support for non-text file attachments, as well as multi-part email messages. Both of these features are important for file sharing.

MIME encodes file attachments as blocks of text. This only transforms your file into a format that SMTP can process — it does not encrypt your data. In addition, MIME messages also contain information about the type of file so email software knows how to handle it. Multi-part messages are what let you include a text message and a file in the same email.

Note that MIME and SMTP are complementary standards. The former defines the contents of an email, while the latter defines how that email finds its way to a recipient. You can think of the MIME content as a “letter” that gets wrapped in an SMTP “envelope”.