存储设备

使用存储设备共享文件

与大文件打交道的公司通常会遇到协作问题。由于对文件大小有限制,电子邮件只能处理小文件,所以不太实用;但是, FTP 又比较复杂。不得已之下,许多团队最终只能将文件保存到 U 盘、SD 卡或外置硬盘上,拿在手上走到同事身边,然后将文件复制给同事。

这种文件共享方式的成本非常低,但其在文件同步和版本控制方面的作用为零,而且如果在使用后不从设备上手动删除文件,就会导致某些安全问题。

背景

在互联网诞生之前,共享数据的唯一方式就是拿着存储设备在电脑之间来回复制。现在虽然已经有了长足的发展,不过在许多行业存储设备仍然发挥着作用。U 盘有时比通过网络连接传输文件更高效,比如在传输原始视频录像、高分辨率照片以及大型数据库时。

延迟与带宽

网络连接总是要在延迟与带宽之间做出取舍。延迟是指消息到达目的地所需的时间,而带宽是指在特定时间内可以传输的数据量。通常情况下,网络会努力设法降低延迟,提高带宽。

例如,如果您用手机给他人发短信,他们几乎马上就能收到。这个示例表明手机网络的延迟相对较低。不过,如果您要发送高分辨率照片,就至少需要几秒的时间,这说明手机网络的带宽较低。

作为文件共享解决方案的存储设备则与此相反。它们的延迟较高,但它们的带宽也相对较高。例如,写一张字条,然后跑到楼下交给同事需要一段时间(高延迟),但是如果您在此过程中使用移动硬盘,就能传送大量信息(高带宽)。

Storage devices

Using storage devices to share files

Companies that work with large files often have trouble collaborating. File size limits make email unrealistic for all but the smallest files, and FTP can be complicated. Many teams eventually resort to saving files to USB thumb drives, SD cards, or external hard drives, walking them over to co-workers, and copying files over.

While this is a low-cost way to share files, it offers nothing in the way of file sync or versioning, and introduces certain security issues if files are not manually deleted from the device after use.

Background

Before the Internet, physically moving storage devices from one computer to another was the only way to share data. We’ve come a long way since then, but storage devices do still play a role in many industries. Raw video footage, hi-res photography, and large databases are just a few examples of when a USB stick can be more efficient than transferring files over a network connection.

Latency vs. bandwidth

Network connections always require a trade-off between latency and bandwidth. Latency refers to how long a message takes to get to its destination, while bandwidth refers to how much data can be transferred in a given period of time. Generally, networks strive for lower latency and higher bandwidth.

For example, when you send someone a text message from your cell phone, they get it almost instantaneously. This is an example of the relatively low latency of cellular networks. But, if you try to send a high-resolution picture, it will take at least a few seconds to send. Thus, cellular networks have low bandwidth.

Storage devices as file share solution are on the opposite end of the spectrum. While they have high latency, their relatively high bandwidth makes up for it. For example, writing a note and running it to a co-worker downstairs takes a long time (high latency), but if you grab a removable hard drive on the way, you can transfer a lot of information (high bandwidth).